Robbed in Ica


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Ica » Pisco
December 23rd 2006
Published: January 24th 2007
Edit Blog Post

We left Nazca and headed for Pisco on the Flores bus. I put my backpack in the overhead compartment and held Tiffs carry on in my lap. A little while later a man started taking to us. He was friendly and later asked us to buy him a bottle of water. We both leaned over to pry the window open and reach for the bottle while he stole my jacket from my backpack. I didn't notice till later. When we were arriving in Ica water spilled on me from the overhead compartment, something that has happened a million times in El Salvador. Our friend momentarily picked up Tiffs bag from my lap, helped dry me off for less than ten seconds, then put the bag back. I started looking in it just to make sure that her cell phone was dry and he started talking nervously, nonstop about how we needed to change buses here, just to distract me from looking through the bag until the aisle was clear and he could get off. After he got off we realized her camera was gone. Luckily we had burned a CD in Cuzco and only lost our pictures of Nazca.

I had read in Bolivia about how people squirt mayonnaise or mustard on you to distract you but water spilling on me just didn't get my attention right away. Also it was really fast. Before I even knew what was going on he was off the bus. I spent the next couple of days feeling stupid.

In Pisco we visited the poor manĀ“s Galapagos which has the largest sea lion colony in the world and millions of birds. The whole place smells like bird poop. Obviously we don't have any pictures so if you are interested look up the Ballestas Islands.

We then headed to Lima for Christmas.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.162s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 10; qc: 66; dbt: 0.1319s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb