Rocks Producing Nitrogen.....


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Ica » Huacachina
February 12th 2010
Published: February 12th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Another day, Another adventure, Another really great story.

So I woke up this morning at 6am to catch a tour that would take me from the oasis town of Huacachina to the Isle de Ballestas, also known as the poor mans galapogus. Im not sure if its for the poor man becasue the smell is so atrocious that you could almost vomit and only those poor enough can bear the pain go, or that the birds and sea lions resemble the galapogus. Either way, I made the trek. Before I jumped on the bus I checked out of my hotel, well mini resort hotel, leaving my big backpack in the lobby while I jumped in the shower. I returned to find that a taxi driver had accidentaly packed it in to his car and taken it to the bus station en route to who knows where! With only 5 mins before my shuttle left I paid the front desk attendant to send another cab to chase my bag down and prayed for the best. Im not sure if it was luck on not, but I thankfully returned from the island adventures to my big red pack waiting for me!

So, Like I say. Im in Huacachina Peru right now. An itsy bitsy oasis just outside of Ica. Since arriving in Lima on the 8th Solo I have met so manyu people heading in the same direction, it has just been unreal! Though a little sad and teary eyed when I think of my friend on the other side of the continent celebrating on Ipanema to one of the biggest parties in the world, carnival, I manage to find calmness in the fact that Im seeing and doing absolutly amazing things! Last night the 7 of us signed up for a dune buggy and sandboarding trip, leading us into the mountains that surround our little village. It seemed like a rollercoaster ride on sand as we flew through the mars landscape. Sandboarding is nothing like snowboarding, but I managed to get my balance a bit and ride down the dunes.

Tonight Im heading to Aeroquipa in hopes of treking the colca canyon. It looks absolutly amazing! I will definatly share my adventures from there, next is to Lake titicaca, La Paz Bolivia, then to Cuzco, and then, hurray, to Belize!

Unbelievably excited, though a bit sad about missing out on the olympic buzz.

Missing everyone!
Big love from Peru,
Mish

Advertisement



Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.024s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0386s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb