Cuzco.... BOOM Baby!/ Hiram Binghams Revenge


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Cusco
May 15th 2009
Published: May 16th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Our HostelOur HostelOur Hostel

Inner courtyard, rustic but charming with a surprise around every corner
"I knew it was bound to happen, I just didn´t think it would happen so soon" - SF

In Mexico its Montezumas revenge, in Morroco its Muhammads (right Erin?)... and here in Cusco, it is their meaner cousin, who I Sandra have dubbed "Hiram Bingham". All of our adverterous eating in Lima caught up with us and much sooner than I expected. But after an uncomfortable evening, we did what any hardcore foodie would do: we got back up on that alpaca and enjoyed a hearty and interesting meal this afternoon.. Alpaca in fact was a part of it 😊 See photos for more on that..

Meanwhile, we are loving loving Cusco.. It is gorgeous and hilly and smells good, except when the un-smog checked cars blow in your face chugging up some monstrous hill. The weather is perfect for me- brisk by day but warm in the sun and cool at night. Its so picturesque I am even going to include some non-food shots this time.. hee..

Thanks for the comments guys, we feel loved..

Paz,

S&S





Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

One of many plazasOne of many plazas
One of many plazas

I love the sunny hills in the background, but pictures cant capture it
Tuna smoothieTuna smoothie
Tuna smoothie

It wasnt fishy at all.. it is a kind of local fruit called tuna
Plaza RegocijoPlaza Regocijo
Plaza Regocijo

Was wicked full of schoolkids this morning, in uniform, marching sort of disoragized-ly
I climbed thisI climbed this
I climbed this

at 11,000 feet, it wasnt easy
UsUs
Us

In Plaza San Blas- the most artsy, bohemian part of Cuzco
Oh yes!Oh yes!
Oh yes!

We found the good stuff.. Plum flavored on top, below its a local sweet squash flavor.. Yum
Lunch at The EmperadorLunch at The Emperador
Lunch at The Emperador

Yucca stuffed with cheese and a spicy green sauce, meat suffle with spicy peppers. Rich and spicy
Main coursesMain courses
Main courses

I couldn´t resist the "erotico ceviche".. all that raw squid seasoned perfectly with lemon, cilantro, spicy goodness. SM had the alpaca filet over a quinoa risotto. We agree, perfectly gamey and delish


17th May 2009

Cuzco
So nice to get news from you. Feels like I'm having this experience with you. Cuzco reminds me of a city in Brazil-Minas Gerais called Tiradentes. The hills and old stone streets and houses. On Monday you will be going to Machu Pichu..I hope you both got used with the altitude and are feeling better. I love looking at your pictures and reading about your experiences. I miss you, love mom
23rd May 2009

Fraaaannnngoo
I was about to gag when I read TUNA SMOOTHIE. Hahaha good thing it's only a fruit. Please do take lots of pictures of pretty places. I want to get an idea of what all of these places look like. It looks goregous so far. Is it at all rainforesty like? The Rouse is doing good btw. We took him on walks twice this week. I'm going to house sit startin Mon-sat so they'll get daily walks when it's not too hot those days. Love u
26th May 2009

Haha boom baby!
That is actually what Cusco says, I just got that. Hahhaha Thanks for the postcard! Cusco misses his homeland and is jealous u both got to visit it. He gives many thanks for the poster. He hung it up so he could feel more at home. Haha. What was it that made u sick? Are there pictures of what NOT to eat? Hahha

Tot: 0.105s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0624s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb