Ollantaytambo and... MACHU PICCHU!!!


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Cusco » Ollantaytambo
May 20th 2009
Published: May 20th 2009
Edit Blog Post

OllantaytamboOllantaytamboOllantaytambo

View from the terrace of our Hostal, Chaska Wasi.. Great place to stay, affordable, the owner is wonderful, and.. well, just look at the picture!
Buenas Tardes mis amigos!

Ok, whew... wow wow wow... Where to begin with this one..

Well, right now we are sitting in a tiny internet cafe in the tiny town of Ollantaytambo.. Google it, seriously. This place is tiny but enormous all at the same time, you´ll see why. We are supposed to be back in Cusco, but thanks to a farmer´s strike over privatization of water rights, here we sit. And no better place can I think of to be stranded for a few days. It is peaceful, and just stunningly gorgeous.

This afternoon we gave our sore limbs a break by lounging on the terrace of our hostel and lingering over a looooong 3 hour lunch. And was it wonderful... The guy running the restaurant seemed to be the server, the chef, the busboy, the dishwasher and the host, all in one. So slow service, but where else did we have to be, right? It took a few days for me to stop looking at my watch every 10 minutes but I am really enjoying the pace of things.

Machu Picchu, was... well, it is beyond words really. Unlike anything I could have ever imagined
Ollantaytambo 2Ollantaytambo 2Ollantaytambo 2

This is most of the village, with the ruins beyond.
in my wildest dreams, and completely and utterly not capturable on film.. I tried my best though, and I hope they tempt those of you who haven´t been, to GO!! It was so good, that have you noticed I have hardly even mentioned food?? Thats how freaking good it was..

Off to... well to do nothing actually, and happily 😊

Paz,

S&S


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Mach PichMach Pich
Mach Pich

S&I, at sunrise
UnrealUnreal
Unreal

This looks photoshopped, I know.. But I love this one of SM sketching
Me on the hike of a lifetimeMe on the hike of a lifetime
Me on the hike of a lifetime

Up Wayanapicchu.. They only let 400 people on the mountian per day, I was number 385, Sm was number 386.
We made it!We made it!
We made it!

This was truly the experience of a lifetime.. scary and wild and wonderful.. And scary! As in, you can´t do this in the US, scary..
Baby loveyBaby lovey
Baby lovey

Llamas wander freely among the ruins.. They aren´t scared of people at all.


20th May 2009

wowzers
It sounds like everything is going well thus far! I love all the details, stories, and pics..makes me feel like I'm almost there, almost. I'm excited that you guys got to experience Machu Picchu firsthand. Closest that we'll ever get is flipping through an old Natural Geographic mag or maybe watching the Travel Channel. (Is there a travel channel?) Anyway, thanks for keeping us posted! We miss you big!
20th May 2009

Machu Picchu
Wow! This is all so great! If you manage to get to a city called OLLANTAYTAMBO, you problally have seen everything!!!!Read comment from Sergio at Gooda's picture site. MOM
20th May 2009

Hope you enjoyed for me Steve (and Sandra too of course) I'll probably never get there myself and always wanted too... ah well, living vicariously is what family is for eh?
20th May 2009

Machu & ship
Dude, I Google-Earthed Machu Pichu and Ollantaytambo. Machu is like on the face of a mountain. Why would you build a city there? You'd like have to go up the hill just to go to church or whatever. Hella nice anyway. What did Critter mean by a food bazaar? Which was more minerally, the alpaca steak or the purple corn drink? Será que eles servem a cerveja estupidamente gelada em Ollantaytambo?
20th May 2009

WOW!
Hey Guys, Awesome pics! Keep 'em coming. Your pics of Machu Picchu are truly inspiring. Especially the one of Mott sketching. It so reminds me of the time when Mott and I wrapped ourselves in a blanket, overlooking the grand canyon at dawn, sharing a cup of hot coco, and later that night....well, that was a long time ago. I love that you guys are doing this blog. I'll check in with you soon. Love BAM
20th May 2009

dude, its MUCH more than a hill dad! Its a freaking MOUNTIAN.. But yeah, I bet the people who lived there were in great ass shape anyway. Re. the alpaca... not so much minerally as iron-y and gamey :)
21st May 2009

good thing your getting use to hiking cause i almost sold SM's baby (the truck, not the neen) for big buck O's. Next time, if i see the same man passing by and he asks me again if im willing to sell the truck i'll say YES! i'll make BANK! tchau tchau for now
21st May 2009

its funny cause the only picture you'll ever really see of spitback when traveling is a picture of him making his own picture. ha f***** awesome! (gouds had a long nice walk today)
25th May 2009

Thank you
Thank you so much for my birthday greeting and song! Michael and I are enjoying all your great pictures. Machu Picchu seems dreamy, surreal. You must be on top of the world!
27th May 2009

bring me a live llama
Awesome. The caretaker's hut photo is going to make you famous. Loved the wandering baby llama and can't make to see more photos of MP. Your hiking butts must be strong!
2nd June 2009

hey!
SO SO SO amazing. This is making me want to go to South America more and more. I'm going to Belize next week and can't wait! Looks like y'all are having a fabulous time!

Tot: 0.169s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.1161s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb