Ayacucho


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Ayacucho
May 11th 2007
Published: May 11th 2007
Edit Blog Post

ChurchChurchChurch

One of the MANY old catholic churches in Ayacucho. Mom you would love it! This one dates back to the 15th century.
May 11th

I woke early to catch a long bus ride. I wasn´t feeling so great, probably due to not a great night´s sleep and maybe the two really weird ¨Pisco Sours¨, the national alcoholic drink I had last night with the Stanford people. We drove down along the coast, very desert-like, and then over into the mountains. I found a very decent hotel and went to get dinner as I was exhausted and hungry!

I asked for water, but for some reason the waiter insisted on bringing me what all the locals drink (chi chi) - corn beer. It looks like red wine, served warm. It was pretty nasty, but I felt bad that the waiter had brought it to me for free so I drank at least half of it anyways. Near the end of my meal, I looked up the chi chi in my lonely planet which says ¨the brewing process, unchanged since pre-Columbian times, is begun by chewing and spitting corn into a vat.....Pack the Pepto'Bismol for this one¨ Do you really think my ¨corn beer¨was made with SPIT? and if so, how much? YUCK.

I did pay for that one, actually, with digestive problems the entire next day...my first in Peru, by the evening I just ate some crackers and fig newtons from the US for dinner so that my stomach could recover. Luckily I was basically better the next morning, so it was a 24 hour bacterial thing.

Ayacucho was a great city! Tons of activity, lots of history of rebels trying to overthrow the government in the 1980s, etc. Tons of great churches from the 15-17th century. I will post pictures but I need to find a computer with a USB plug first. This one only has a floppy disk drive. The weirdest part of the day was when a truck hauling tigers and lions in a flimsy cage drove by. The streets are so small, I could have stuck my hand into the cage. Really weird, I don´t know what that was about but there definitely aren´t any zoos around here.

Advertisement



15th May 2007

Chi Chi
Since you enjoyed the Chi Chi so much, next time when you come home, I promise to make you some myself. Chew up so corn spit it in a blender and stir.... YUMMY:)

Tot: 0.108s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.057s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb