Andahuaylas


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Apurímac » Andahuaylas
May 12th 2007
Published: May 12th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Jaime SA

Started in Lima, went to Ayacucho, Andahuaylas, and now Cusco.

Meat for SaleMeat for SaleMeat for Sale

There was a little mini-market near my hotel where I saw this chicken (i think) sitting for sale in Andahuaylas

Jaime SA May 12-13

Well I learned that my second bus ride was much longer due to not ONLY unpaved roads, but really small, single lane windy roads that go through the mountain. Sometimes I couldn´t even see the the end of the road at my window because we were so close to the ledge! Very sharp turns, every time a car came the other way we had to stop, and sometimes back up as much as a quarter of a mile to find a spot wide enough for both of us to pass. Some turns were so sharp in the road that we couldn´t make the turn in one swoop, we had to actually stop, reverse, and go forward again. Sometimes I just closed my eyes because it was too scary to watch!

Anyways I arrived in Andahuaylas safely, which is a tiny town with nothing much at all going on and really no foreigners. I haven´t meet anyone who speaks english since I saw my stanford friends! Many more historic churches which seem to be all over Peru! So I´m really just staying the night over and taking the overnight bus to Cusco.

I finally uploaded the pics I´ve taken so far, they aren´t that exciting. Here is my favorite from Andahuaylas.

Advertisement



15th May 2007

this was the bus ride I mentioned to you. I think last year some cruisers lsot thier lives on a bus accident. Try and stay away from those please.
15th May 2007

love the map part also. 413 miles. is imperial same as US miles?? will have to find out. Are you going to Bolivia next?? Oh, US govt has issued warning about travel to NEPAL. kidnapping and ransoms by some group over there...
15th May 2007

Were you sitting next to the driver telling him to be careful?? :) ps. Where are the pics of you??
16th May 2007

cluck cluck
i'm surprised you didn't buy the chicken! haha...i love this blog thing. i feel like we're traveling together :) stay safe, keep those eyes closed on the bus rides. Mr. Raczka you crack me up with the maps!!! i love it :) james, i bet this i good practice for your spanish. xoxo
16th May 2007

It is great hearing about your adventures. Pick-up a pound of beef for me at the local mini meat market!
29th May 2007

they have cosco in Peru? Sweet!

Tot: 0.135s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 10; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0641s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb