Colca canyon and ariquipa


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Arequipa
August 13th 2012
Published: August 13th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Hi everyone !After arriving back in Cuzco we took the two days easy. Sadly on the first day I was still ill so ended up back in the hotel on my own. About 5 I decided to get a Starbucks and McDonald's with the others to try ad make myself feel better ! The day after I was determined to get out and do something as we had time to kill until 7.30. I went to the inca museaum. There were lots and lots of pots there - that's enough pots for me this holiday I think! They also had some of the mummys which had been preserved, scary but very interesting and couldnt believe they survived so long without just breaking! I took some sneaky pictures so you could see 😉 after a 10 hour night bus we arrived in ariquipa at 6 in the morning. After a quick shower it was time for breakfast - eggs and lemon meringue pie! Yummmmmmmm! It was then time for no more culture or doing unnecessary exercise and it was time for the most important activity of all - SUNBATHING!!!! We found a little patch of grass and like typical Brits made the most of the rays! So hot though and burnt a little even with sun cream, but defo building a good tan 😉 we then made the most of the afternoon sun and sipped cocktails on top of a terrace restaurant. We went out for a meal that over looked the city then after a couple of drinks a reasonably early night. It was time the following morning to begin our 2 day exercursion to the colca canyon. Really could not be bothered as we weren't allowed to take our rucksacks and has to be on a bus the whole day! Anyway so we arrived chivay, after just spending 5 hours in the mini bus 😞 sadly the hotel wasn't brilliant, very dated and dirty but it was a place to stay I suppose! We of up early the following day to get to the canyon. Sadly i didnt think the canyon was worth 2 days travelling but we got to see some condors! We got to meet our old tour leader last night and ended up having a few drinks! So a bit of a rough 3 hours mini bus journey back to ariquipa. Sadly one of the girls - my room mate at the time got really ill and has been ill all day hopefully I won't get the bug before I get on the plane! Just waiting for the night bus tonight :/ at least it's the last night bus now and soon time to go home. Heading to nazca to see the nazca lines tomorrow! I'm staying by the pool all day I have decided 😉 Miss you all and see some of you in 4 days xxxxxxxxxxxxx

Advertisement



Tot: 0.172s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 13; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0735s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb