Trekking and stuff


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Arequipa
June 11th 2006
Published: June 11th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Colca Canyon...Colca Canyon...Colca Canyon...

...all the way down, all the way up...
"So, what´s Billy been up to?" I hear you ask. This and that. I´ve been in Arequipa a while. It´s a nice chilled out place with a pretty centre overlooked by snow-capped mountains and a perfect conical volcano. I´ve been to a museum to see the ice-mummy, Juanita. Unfortunately they make you watch a video and take a tour for over an hour first. Then I went on a 3-day trek in the Colca Canyon. Which was fun, but hard work. Me duele el cuerpo entero, as I told my guide at the end. Anyways, apparantly it´s the deepest Canyon in the world, twice as deep as the grand canyon, and I trekked all the way down, up a bit, back down to the bottom, then all the way back up again. Not at the deepest point, I should mention, but still a 1200m vertical climb, on steep slipperry dusty gravel paths, finishing after about 3 hours at around 3400m.a.s.l. Glad I did those snowdon climbs before I left, otherwise I´d really have been in for a surprise! The last day we went to see condors. Or condor, as it turned out. They´re big bloody birds!

Right, off to Cusco
Colca Canyon...Colca Canyon...Colca Canyon...

...all the way down, all the way up...
in a couple days. As is becoming usual, pics to follow (although the last lot should be on now!)


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

Big-arsed CondorBig-arsed Condor
Big-arsed Condor

The only one we saw


13th June 2006

stuff
hey billy... you're missing my party on 24th, you best be having the time of your life to justify missing it!!! theme this year is toga (for the very brave) i'll have a few mojito's for you, made by our very capable waitress - Amie! XX

Tot: 0.165s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 17; qc: 68; dbt: 0.1341s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb