General round-up.


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Ica » Nazca
June 1st 2006
Published: June 1st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Nasca LinesNasca LinesNasca Lines

Picture doesn´t do justice
Well, when was the last time?!.....

Enjoying Peru. Stayed longerthan I´d really intended in Lima, but was just enjoying being in a proper big city again far too much to be arsed to move on. The hostel was really good and a lot of fun, and people were into going out and partying, so I returned to quite a nocturnal lifestyle.

When I finally did leave, it was because I met some local girls who invited me to their house in Ica. Free food and accommodation I was promised. Hmm, didn´t quite work out that way. Arrived at the house, which was infact in some dusty little place outside Ica. Turned out not even to have a toilet, and you needed to go to the local petrol station and use theirs. Great. Except the water supply was playing up, so you couldn´t. Even better. Well, at least it provided a good insight into life here for many people. Anyway, added to that, we managed to arrive in the middle of some kinda domestic dispute, which meant after the first night, we spent the whole day away from the house, and then left for hostel the next night. Ica itself
Jessi and I...Jessi and I...Jessi and I...

...she and her sisters took me to Ica...
wasn´t too much to talk about either. I guess the only real thing of note was sand-boarding in Huacachina. Awesome!!!

Anyway, now I´m in Nazca. This morning I took a flight over the lines, which was incredible, and this afternoon I visited a place where they extract gold from rocks in a manual process that includes the use of mercury and swaying on top of big boulders, a pottery factory where they also restore 2000 year old pots discovered in my other destination, a Nazcan graveyard. Lots of holes full of mummified dead people. Who aren´t so mummified now after exposure to the elements by the attentions of grave-robbers. Also visited some old aqueducts with spiral inspection pits that bring water all the way from the Andes.

Anyway, off to Arequipa tomorrow. Piccies to follow, this computer doesn´t have a USB connection.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Old dead person...Old dead person...
Old dead person...

...in a hole in the desert.
Inca aqueduct....Inca aqueduct....
Inca aqueduct....

...inspection hole.
Me...Me...
Me...

...and my sandboard


6th June 2006

freeloader
So it WAS worth doing the lines - I'm glad. It does you good to see how the other half lives - that will teach you not to try to freeload in future.

Tot: 0.16s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 15; qc: 70; dbt: 0.1209s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb