Paraguari and surroundings


Advertisement
Paraguay's flag
South America » Paraguay » Paraguari
May 8th 2009
Published: May 13th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Paraguari and sorroundings

Ok well so much has happened, where to start.

So far our adventures have taken us from the small town of Paraguari and we did a small camping trip in some near by mountains or hills really. We hicked up from a friends house up into the sub-tropical forest. Using our pangas or mashettes as some would call them, to slash our way up this hill. We found a dry stream that we followed up hoping that there would be some water. Eventually we came to a spot where some water was seeping out the rocks forming enough flowing water. This was at the base of what looked like a 10m wall of rock.

We found our way around and on top top of the wall, where we made camp on a slight angle which, eventually proved to be very uncomfortable. We stayed there for 3 nights. The first night being frigen scarry because we kept hearing noises, being used to South Africa you never know. Well we made it through the nights, and at this point fed up with rice and pasta.

Our next adventure was taking a 60km bus ride to the capital which should take normally 30-45min. Not a chance this one takes 3 HOURS !!! only because it stopped to pick people and drop people off. In the capital we walked a few kilometers up north to the CBD(Cental Business District) or downtown as refered to here. We needed to draw money seeing that we can only draw in 3 towns with an international card.

On the way to an ATM we walked through the market. WOW ok so picture this. This is new for me, so we walked threw like tunnels, is a way to describe it. The tunnels are formed from each stand beings so close to each other. But it is quite a large area that is covered by this market. I would think very easy to get lost in. Clothes, CDs, DVDs, all fake no such thing as copy right at all. Shoes, panties, g-stings, watches, cell phones. Ok so you can imagine it. So eventually getting through and getting our money and walking all the way back to the bus station. But on our way we thought we were going to get jumped by some street kids, they were sittng on the wall about 5 or 6 or 7 of them. In spanish asked us to stop we were like nought bru. As we carried on walkin we had stones thrown at us, lucky nothing hit us. And nothing more happened of that. 3 hours then back to our safe haven we now call home.

ok we not finished 2 more stories, bare with me.
Tress kandu, Tress we can do. The highest mountain in Paraguay, we climbed. Took us half the time to climb back down. Lucky to be dropped of at the base firest. Beautiful forest walk up, finally getting to the top we find there was an abandoned house, something you would see in the movies. A broken well outside and some old radio towers all on an open patch of grass. Set the tent up on the open grass like rookies. Had enough time to fetch fire wood and dig a toilet before dark.

Learning from last time we had such a thick meal, minced meat with pasta and a really good sauce. We ate like kings, Chris and myself. Sleeping time, I woke up at 12 with a big noise next to the tent. I though something was trying to get into my bag. Chris, Chris did you hear that?, what hear wat. Still half asleep. I told him wat I heard. Darren I hear footsteps. Outside on the grass it sounded like something walking. Which left us paranoid for the rest of the night. The next evening we had the biggest wind storm we thought we were going to be blown off the cliff with the tent.

With the tent flat on top of Chris and myself and trying to sleep not happening, not to mention the bully beef food we at, real bad. Meat from a can bad idea. Woke early the next morning to break camp in the cold, while it was still dark. Today we needed to find a way back home to paraguari. long trip if your not sure how you gonna get there. From the bottom of the mountain we walked another 10km till tar road, also getting a lift with an ox wagon for a few hundered meters.

From the tar road we continued to walk, real backpacking I told Chris. We both laughed, because bare in mind we got these big packs on our backs, very heavy and walk kilometers. Resting in the shade Chris said he had never seen me like that before, I was finished. When along came a bus to save us. On the bus to Villarica, from there a bus to Cornel oviedo, then a bus to a T junction. Thats where we head south. Waited at a bus pick up, Chris saying that meat dinner is going to be good. The next bus took us like 8km to piribebuy the next town to which we didnt realise but the next 30km would be walking with these bags. Swapping every now and then because my bag was a little heavier. Eventually getting back at 7.30pm, 1 very long day.

The next evening last night, made it all worth it, our muscles hurting. Battling to staighten our legs because the kept crampin. We went into the capital with Greg and Vonnie and the 2 little guys Caleb and Ben, the young family we been staying with while in Paraguay. Greg told us about a restaurant in town that you pay like R100 each and eat as much as you like or in our case as much as you can. So we treated Greg and the family to a meal there.

We went preparred or at least we thought.... Sat down first meat, dont ask wat the meats were, for all I new it could have been cat or dog haha ok I dont think it was. Let me tell you on this trip I have eaten better than I have in a long time. Normally I eat and when I get full I feel sick, but since BA I eat and eat like chris, 1 stage more than chris. Must be a mental thing. I know there is going to be a time when I would not have much to eat. So the first time in my life I eat for the taste, and Im a skinny guy where it all goes I have no idea.

So there is a big self service area, with sushi and salads and rice, all that stuff. Then the waiters bring skewers of meat at you and slice it off hot onto your plate. At one stage my plate was so full I couldnt see the bottom just meat, my side plate of veg dont worry mum got those, but ate and ate. They just kept coming from every angle, South Africa or Durban needs a place like this. BUT wait there is dessert to wow. Got the dessert, I recon I ate more that Chris last nyt. Got home at mid nyt another long day but well worth it.

Whats still to come we wil see
To be continued....

Advertisement



Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0411s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb