Semana Dos


Advertisement
Paraguay's flag
South America » Paraguay » Concepcion
September 18th 2007
Published: September 18th 2007
Edit Blog Post

So I've been here two weeks now... How weird is that? The time has seriously just flown, I feel like I've only been here two days.

On saturday it rained. I never thought as an English person I would be happy to see rain. But I was. It was glorious and wonderful. The temperature has since been 25 degrees C which has felt deliciously cold. I wore a jumper. I'm dreading when the temperature will go back up to the 40s.

On saturday evening I went to Anna and Matt's farewell dinner. (They're the English people I met at the airport) There was a big group of, of all different nationalities English, Paraguayan and Belgian. It was good fun. Anna did a fire poi routine on the corner of the street by a statue and one of the paraguayan's just walked up and turned the lights on the statue off so we could see it better! Crazy. The dinner highlights how crazily cheap everything here is. For 3 meals, and 3 very large bottles of beer it came to the equivalent of £4.50! That's insane! My hamburger and chips costs 80p!!! It was so good. Hmm That makes me realise I'm hungry!

I don't really know what else to say... I'm beginning to feel more at home now. Which is good. Yesterday I had lunch with the bishop and his family which was really nice. He's such a practical joker. When we were in the car and reversing out of the drive he came and banged the bonnet so Claire would think she'd hit something! And then on sunday whilst we were having a meeting in our kitchen he came to the front door and pretended to be Sammi the dog, and was scratching at the door and making dog noises, so Claire got a glass of water opened the door and chucked it at him! Then was going "oh sorry... thought you were Sammi!" Those two have a proper practical joke feud going on, it's hilarious, and I'm sure it won't be long untill I'm dragged into it too!

Advertisement



19th September 2007

I think it would be even funnier
if the dog pretended to be the bishop. Imagine it trying to paw its vestments off, neglecting peaceful handshakes with the congregation in favour of smelling their bums...

Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 41; dbt: 0.0545s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb