Fate must be on my side


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » West » Montañita
July 24th 2008
Published: July 24th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Well, I am not actually in Montañita, but it´s an appropriate title anyway. We were planning on leaving today after class but when our plans just weren´t seeming to work out, we decided not to. That is everyone except Lizzy, who should probably just move there. I still don´t want her to go because it´s super dangerous to drive on that road, especially at night, she´ll be alone, and the entire country will be there this weekend. Ahhh! I´m such a mom. Further, I backed out when I found out the bus we were originally planning to take to Baños ended up crashing and 4 people died, 22 injured. Never going to ride a bus in the dark and I am already scared about riding them during the day. The mountains don´t have good roads and the bus gets inches from the edge going fast. Drivers are tired. Helllllsss no. So I will be in Guayaquil for the Festivals (Ferriadas?) and if I am lucky I will make a day trip to Salinas so I can come home with a slight tan. I am uber pale.

This is the last day of class (hoo-rah) and I am realllly excited about that but I am sad that all my new friends will be leaving. Mostly. A couple are staying later than others, but I will still be the last one, besides Veronica. Everyone is talking about what they will do when they get home and their first American meal, and how much they miss everyone. Now I am beginning to get sad that I have to wait another 10 days. I know I won´t regret staying and traveling, but I do miss home. When I get there, I will punch anyone who didn´t realize I was missing for a month.

My white heels are so worn down that the heel part is just metal and it sounds like I am wearing tap shoes and they slide all over the place. But I still get whistled at. Ecuadorian dudes.

Time to work on my play of diecisiete ingleses envenenados. Just Katie and I again.

Also, I have to share this giggle. Yesterday I texted Mark and since my cell phone here is easiest to use Spanish with, I typed in Spanish. I got back something like English please, which is the first time since I´ve been in the country that someone has told me that.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.206s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.1353s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb