Viernes


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » West » Guayaquil
July 4th 2008
Published: July 4th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Happy Cuatro de Julio!! They have a random statue of Abe Lincoln here and someone had put an L on his forehead so I took it off yesterday. I was going to put it on one of their statues, but that´s disrespectful.

They teach entirely in Spanish here so it´s abit harder to learn. Regardless of the level, they answer your questions in Spanish. It helps in terms of learning a new vocab, but when I don´t understand the spanish definition it is useless. For example I can ask What is tirar, and they answer Como echar. Ugghh.´My Spanish better get better, or else!!! I´ve got a project due Monday about Los Costeños.

Tonight we all want to hang out and celebrate 4th of July, but we have no plan. We´ll probably go dancing or something. There is a supposed town party (it´s the month of Guayaquil) and the girls want to go to that. I will as long as it´s not too expensive and I can borrow clothes. Ecuadorians go all out for parties. They are glamorous. Tomorrow a bunch of people are going to see a band, Aventura, but I don´t want to. Sunday we all rented a bus and are taking it to Salinas beach for the day. We may try to stop by Montañita, but it´s mostly drugs and hippies and the majority of us aren´t into it. I still want to see it, but it may not be in the cards. Today my Conversation class has a trip to Fería de Libros in the Centro.

I get lost walking home from school every day and yesterday it took me 1.5 hours. I even walked out of the city. ha. My house mom made a map for me so today I think I can do it. If not, I give up and use taxis.

After class yesterday our teacher dropped us off at a little vegetarian restaurant near my house in Urdesa. We got almuerzo for $2.20 each, so a drink, soup, and meal. Yummy. There was this tasty madura thing (ripe banana) that was like dessert. Then I had icecream back here at the school. There is this brand of iced teas here, each is a different fruit flavor and is supposed to make you relaxed or skinny or energized and they are 0.75 each. I want to bring some home but I dón´t think I can.

Wednesday night I went with Veronica, Liz and Dayne to a restaurant to watch the soccer game. It was really crowded so we ended up at a tiny place right near it that was classier and therefore had no one in it but we got special attention. I got home and did some homework and then slept well. Guess I´m finally getting used to the noisy bed and surroundings. Yesterday I was lost walking home from class for an hour and a half. I managed to leave Urdesa. Today Jazmina drew me a map so I am trying for the last time.

My dreams have been really terrible. I also keep hearing blood curling screams, but I think they are in my head. Maybe this happens when you eat termites. Jamina calls them termititos.

Dear Home,

Hope you haven´t forgotten about me. I miss you. Let me know you are still there.

Love, Gina Marie

Advertisement



Tot: 0.123s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0546s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb