El Primer Dia de las clases


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » West » Guayaquil
July 2nd 2008
Published: July 2nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

First, I am not taking any pictures so far because I never remember. Also, cameras are an invitation to get robbed because they are shiny and ridiculously expensive here. BTW, a Wii cost $2550. Yea. Seriously.

WARNING: Whining.

There computer from my house had disappeared and now I have a lot to write. Mommy sent me 8 e-mails in 2 days because I hadn´t e-mailed her. Ha. Oh mommy. I wish I would get e-mails from my friends though so I don´t feel like home forgot me. Unfortunately I am going through homesickness or PMS or just an overall bad mood because I am angry at everyone and want to go home and sleep in my bed for a couple days.

My second or third (no me recuerdo) day here I went to Malecon with Maureen, Kefas, and Dayne. We were dropped off for 5 hours and told not to eat anything big. We walked all the Malecon, through the stores, etc. Near Las Peñas was El Meseo Archpileageo. Lots of sweet artwork. When they picked us up and told us almuerzo was done we were starving and had to ask to go to a restaurant. Fatima drove us to Pique y Pase, a typico place. I was the only one who spoke any Spanish among us so I ordered for everyone. It was an adventure and an ego booster for me. That day I was confident my Spanish was superb. After the food, we were taken to Sonia Bourbano´s house to meet Katie. NOT A FAN. She is 21 and majors in Spanish, which she speaks with a fake french accent. She knows a lot of it, and she loves to talk to show off. She´s annoying in whatever language she´s speaking. Uggh. I have to limit my ranting. I wish she wasn´t part of our program. Returned to Jazmina´s and slept. Did a whole lot of nothing that I can recall. Also, somewhere in there, I saw La Bahia, which is a black market like Canal Street. I plan to go there and regeteo so if anyone wants a gift you are getting one from there. It´s pretty awesome and an excellent way to practice speaking.

My first day of school was eh. We took a test for placement and I was begging them to keep me in intermediate. I ended up placing Intermediate 2 but they might put me in Advanced 1. I DON´T want to be in advanced because Katie is there. However, my teacher doesn´t pronounce her Ss and I have a hard time understanding her, but it´s getting easier. School isn´t as fun or easy as I had hoped, which is a shame because I am here so much. We have class from 9 to 11 and then siesta, Conversation class (I´m in the higher one) from 3:30 to 6. It´s a friggin long day. By the time I get home I just want to sleep. Luckily I can go out during my break, but the other girl I like, Veronica, is in advanced with katie and gets out of class at 12:45. Mehhh. Yesterday we went to the mall, San Marino, for break. I was dehydrated and cranky and felt like I was going to pass out. I hadn´t slept an hour the night before and just want to curl up in a ball in the corner. I had an energy smoothie which I ordered in Spanish and was answered in English. I had 3 essays to write for homework. I wrote one after dinner and then fell asleep and didn´t wake up til 2 AM. Since I had been so tired from the night before I just said screw the homework.

This weather doesn´t agree with my hair. --- I want to meet some Guayaquileños so I can talk wth people. ---I need more clothes. The maid took the laundry and I don´t know when I get it back. ---- I don´t like feeling sick constantly. ---- Everyone in my program, including me, is having terrible dreams. Malaria medicine maybe? --- Today I am going to a jean factory where I am supposed to be able to find jeans for uber cheap.

Malecon: boardwalk. Parks. tropical. Koy that are 2 feet long. Playgrounds. GORGEOUS.

I realize now that this trip if going to fly by because we really only have 3 or 4 weeks. We go to Cuenca from July 11-13. I want to go to the beaches this weekend, but it´s not being planned well. I must go to Baños as well.

Haha, this is such an unorganized blog. I think I´ll try again later when I am not feeling crazy. I miss everyone at home now because the excitement has worn off. aiudfus. El fin.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.168s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0855s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb