Hola from Ecuador


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » North » Otavalo
May 6th 2009
Published: May 8th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Equator museumEquator museumEquator museum

Balancing an egg on it´s end on a nail!
OK, I´ve had some difficulties getting my blog going, so I have a few days of info.
I made it into Quito quite smoothly, not the same for my co-volunteer from the UK who was re-routed thru Bogota, Columbia and then had her luggage lost. I didn't get to see much of Quito, since I got in around midnight, but the next day we went to "Museo de sitio intinan" (museum that sits at latitude 00,00,00 degrees on the equator). It was a great time. . .our guide showed us some amazing interactive demonstrations about gravity pull and the good news. . . I way 2.2 less pounds here! How cool!

One of the challenges is to try to balance a raw egg on its end on a nail. I was successful (I love these kitchy challenges) and received a certificate from the museum with an official stamp! It was interesting to learn about the indigenous peoples and Inca history in the region. We saw the inside of a typical indigenous home (the kind many of my students live in) and learned about some of the traditional Indian customs. A very cool way to kick of my time in Ecuador!
View from SchoolView from SchoolView from School

Here is a view from the school yard!


My first night, I met some of my fellow GVI volunteers- they are mostly from Australia, the UK and there is one Canadian who lives with me and my host family.

So, my host family is fantastic. Pilar is my host Mom and she is really sweet- I liked her immediately. Her husband is Alfredo who is also friendly (he won't be around much, evidently) and they have 2 children, Jorge Luis who is 11 and Mabelle who is 8. JL is quite spirited (and I hear mischevious) . . . I could tell from the first hola! My Phillies hat and mini Liberty Bell gifts seemed to be a hit with the kids (I unfortunately can only understand about 20% of what is being said presently, but that will change after my lessons this week!).

I have a nice cozy room and Brittany (the Canadian) and I share our own bathroom. It is very comfortable and I know the family takes great pride in making sure their guests are well fed and taken care of. I also learned I will be fed lots of carbs here (dinner was pasta soup, potatoes, rice (another unidentifiable carb, which
views from the busviews from the busviews from the bus

Amazing scenery!
I politely declined and some beef). Portion control!! At our weekly Wednesday volunteer potlucks, salads are in high demand!! The beef was quite tasty, I must say!

I will have my first lessons and get to visit the weekday Otavalo market (a smaller version of the famous Saturday market). I was told I will need to pick up a wool hat for my first visit to school tomorrow, as it is quite cold. (most of you know how I hate to shop! 😊) Well, more later!
Adios for now!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0331s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb