Leaving tomorrow!


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » North » Otavalo
April 30th 2009
Published: April 30th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I just received my last details and my teaching assignment! I will be working in the Huayrapungo community. It is the furthest and most remote of all of the communities I could have been placed in for this project. I am excited. . . the scenery should be breathtaking, and yes, the air will be thin, but I will get used to it, eventually! I am a little nervous about my rusty Spanish, but am told that it is common to feel that way. I will certainly get ramped up quickly during my first week and 24 hours of lessons that are scheduled! I will be working with 1st and 3rd graders. . . similar to the ages of my nephews, so they will be fun and interactive, I'm sure. I know it will be hard work teaching them in Spanish, but I am up for the challenge.
I need to figure out a cool gift to bring for my host family. . . I don't know, is a mini Liberty Bell too boring?? It was suggested I get something representative of my place of origin (Rocky, cheese steaks, the liberty bell. . .typical thoughts as tourists venture out in Philly)
Anyway, I'm sure I will come up with something special! Adios. . . I will likely be writing my next entry from Ecuador!!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0433s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb