GVI Volunteer -The Andes of Ecuador


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » North » Otavalo
April 21st 2009
Published: April 21st 2009
Edit Blog Post

I am counting down the days until I fly from PHL to Ecuador. I leave May 1 and arrive in Quito May 2. I will have a short visit in Atlanta before leaving the US for 5 wks. I am getting excited. . . and honestly, am a little nervous too. I have questions. . . what will my living situation be like, will I like the food? I am so excited to meet my host family, be in the beautiful Andes mountains and to brush up on my Spanish. As I recall. . .the last time I took a Spanish lesson, it was the Tues before Sept 11 2001, at the outdoor cafe in front of Borders at the WTC! I will be extra motivated in my lessons, as I will want to be able to communicate my basic needs and connect with my new Ecuadorian family ASAP.

I am wondering what to bring. . . I know this will work itself out. I am also hoping I will have easy access to wireless internet (I know there are internet cafes) to keep up with my blog, skype and stay connected with friends and family. I'm also job hunting while abroad, so I am especially appreciative of the internet and how far we have come in the last 10 years. Well, signing off for now. . .
M

Advertisement



Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.022s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0429s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 3; ; mem: 1.1mb