Last Day in the Galapagos


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » Galápagos » Santa Cruz Island
February 23rd 2010
Published: February 26th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Last day in the Galapagos and it has totally exceeded all my expectations! If I hear anyone say that it´s overrated, I will happily hit them.

We woke up really early to have a dry landing in Santa Cruz and took a bus to the Charles Darwin Research Centre. There were baby turtles, big male turtles, females - tonnes! They´re so gracious but have a bit of a sad story. If they´re in the wild, they likely to be eaten by rats but in captivity they´re likely to go blind. Damn rats. It was really quite sad to see the blind turtles.

Kike said goodbye at the centre which was also really sad - he was really an amazing guide. And we continued onto the airport. No upgrade for us this time though.

Got to Guayaquil and hopped in a taxi to pick up a parcel that had been delivered from home and hadn´t quite made it to Montañita. To cut a very long, boring story short, I had to go to 11 desks and sign 11 different things and pay 11 different fees just to get my parcel which took over an hour. And all the while, Merlyn had to sit in the waiting room mr. jobsworth wouldn´t let her come in with me. An hour of my life that I will never get back.

Managed to get to the bus station with about 10 mins left to spare before our bus left for Baños. But we first had to find it in the maze that is Guayaquil Bus Terminal. Luckily we´d already bought our tickets (from booth 86 I think). Got on the bus and it ended up leaving 20 mins late anyway.

Horrific 7 hour bus journey to Baños but well worth it now that I´m here.

Advertisement



26th February 2010

Galapagos
Galapagos - overrated if you ask me :)

Tot: 0.155s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 22; qc: 101; dbt: 0.1135s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb