Española


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » Galápagos » Española Island
February 21st 2010
Published: February 26th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Gardener Bay, Española Island - without a doubt the most beautiful beach I have ever seen. White sand and at least four different shades of blue in the sea. I can totally understand why the sea lions chose this beach to do their sun bathing on.

Unfortunately though, Merlyn was really ill this morning which meant she missed out - such a shame. But she felt better by the afternoon so didn´t miss the whole island.

This time, it was a wet landing so I had to make tough decision on whether or not to take my camera. I didn´t take it in the end but regretted it as the wet landing was actually that wet at all. But if it had had been destroyed, I would have been totally gutted.

Didn´t really do much on the beach except for walk, swim and take in the awe-inspiring scenery. Saw a whole bunch more sea lions lying in a row and another turtle swimming in the sea. Thought I might get bored of the sea lions but the novelty did not once wear off.

About 20 minutes after visiting Gardener Bay, we were taken far out into the sea to do some more snorkelling. The water was perfect: clear and warm. And Merlyn was back - yay!

We saw baby turtles, Galapagos sharks, rays and so many fish that I will probably never know the names of but will always appreciate anyway!

In the afternoon, we went back to Española but the rocky side. The boobies were nesting there so we were able to see lots of little chicks around as well as a few eggs in the nests.

After walking a little way through the island, we saw a stunning Galapagos Hawk looking all regal in its tree. I still can´t believe just how close you can get to the animals here.

We took seats on the rocks and looked out to sea whilst the boobies flew up ahead and the hawks swooped. I was a little too afraid to put Dennis out for a photo (my travelling mascot) in case he was grabbed by a hawk but I did and he made it - phew!

Got back to the boat and after dinner decided to play cards with a few of the other passengers. Then Javier, one of the crew members sat down and started to teach us an Ecuadorian card game called 40. The rules went completely over my head though so after the first game (which Javier and I won). I left them to it and passed out very quickly on my bed after another exhausting day.

Advertisement



26th February 2010

Boobies
Boobies ? boobies ? vot is all dis talk of boobies. Luv to you and Dennis Dad

Tot: 0.151s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 23; qc: 103; dbt: 0.0975s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb