Day 4 Galapagos.


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » Galápagos » Floreana Island
February 24th 2010
Published: February 26th 2010
Edit Blog Post

6am wake up call! And it was still dark. And raining. Half an hour to get out of bed, brush my teeth, put in my contacts, find my bikini and then put it on.

6.30am - catch the dinghy out into the middle of the sea in the pouring rain but at least it´s light now. I didn´t quite believe Kike when he jumped in and said that the water was warm but it actually was!

I jumped off of dinghy and straight onto a big fat jellyfish (I´m just assuming it was big and fat, I actually didn´t even see it) and managed to get myself stung a few times on my arm, foot and leg. Me being me however, didn´t actually realise that I´d been stung for another 15 mins or so when Kike was stung in the mouth and I was suddenly like ´oh so that´s why my arm hurts!´- Idiot.

Saw new fish, a white tipped reef shark and another graceful turtle. After Kike was stung, we made a swift exit back to the boat where all my stings were covered in vinegar.

After having a nice hot shower, the stings finally stopped stinging and I was ready for a wet landing on Floreana Island which surprising wasn´t covered in sea lions! After a little walk where we saw Darwin´s daisies (pretty flowers), we came to a sort of lagoon with lots of flamingoes stand around. Not really a great deal of them but enough.

The backdrop was just amazing though. Flamingoes in the water, low clouds over the leafy hills (and I forgot to mention the very heavy rain) - quite surreal really.

It was definitely the island that looked most like ´lost´ and we stepped out of a little rocky hill to find ´the others´walking along the beach towards us. Turned out to just be other tourists and I was more than mildly disappointed.

Some people swam back to the boat from the island but I hitched a lift on the dinghy (because I forgot to take my swimmers and was a tad scared of another jellyfish attach). But I got changed once back on the boat and jumped off the stern into the sea for one last snorkel. Merlyn and I swam back to the boat to be greeted by a sea lion having a snooze on the steps up to the boat so we had to just step over her.

Got to have some nice hot chocolate on the boat to warm us up with tasty biscuits and then got to chill out for a bit before heading to Post Office Bay for another wet landing.

Got to Post Office Bay and and it´s a little shanty post box in the middle of nowhere. Whalers/Bucaneers used to go and drop their post in the box and pick up someone elses if they were going to close to the address and they would hand deliver it. I dropped in 2 postcards - once for home and one for Tiffany so look out for them! I also picked up 4 to take to Australia with me.

That evening we took a taxi dingy to Santa Cruz Island for a drink with a couple of members of crew . The bar man from the boat, first made a pass at Merlyn, then me and then Kate. And then must have decided that I was the best bet and came to me. None of us were having any of it though and he got bored and moved on to another bar without us! Had to catch another taxi dinghy back to our back but this time without the crew!

Advertisement



7th March 2010

WOW
Hey! Ive always wanted to visit the galapagos islands I was just wondering who you went with, where you booked it from and how much it all cost? Ive been looking online but if its anything like Africa and Asia its far cheaper to book locally! Cheers Eileen
29th March 2010

Hey! It was amazing. I went with a company called Voyagers travel who were really helpful. I booked it last minute with them whilst already in Ecuador but you can still book with them before you get there, I think they are actually based in the states but it will work out more expensive. I can´t find their website at the moment but I´ll have a look and get back to you

Tot: 0.134s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 21; qc: 99; dbt: 0.0964s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb