The Individual Level #3 – Floating Down the Amazon


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » East » Tena
January 29th 2020
Published: January 29th 2020
Edit Blog Post

This past week – and our official last week here - has flown by here in Ecuador! The past few days we spent time in the Amazon jungle and learned how to make chocolate from cocoa beans, which was super tasty. We then went to an animal reserve and saw many exotic animals, which was so cool. We then floated down a river in the jungle, which was so cool.

While we did so many wonderful and fun things while in the Amazon, I felt very overwhelmed and uncomfortable for a decent portion of our stay. The humidity was so intense that we all were often drenched in sweat no matter what time of the day, and our bungalow had little to no water, so none of the four of us washed our hair or were able to clean ourselves off. Sleeping in the heat was also a challenge, and when we floated down the river in the jungle, I was worried about what might be lurking in the water waiting to bite me. There were many unknowns while we were there, and as Professora Robalino pointed out, “Americans like to know things.” We like knowing what comes next and how to prepare for it. I’m a planner by nature and I like to be prepared. While we were in the jungle, I felt out of my element. It’s easy when you’re in your comfort zone to stay inside your little comfort bubble and never be uncomfortable. However, my CQ Drive was greatly strengthened as a result. According to Leading with Cultural Intelligence, CQ Drive is “having the interest, confidence, and drive to adapt cross-culturally” (Livermore 27). During moments of fear and discomfort, my desire to learn and experience the culture around me pushed me onward and helped me get past any momentary displeasure I had. I’m really glad I developed that skill because it made my time in the jungle so much more enjoyable. Even though I felt gross and was drenched in sweat, I felt happy and had a great time at the amazoonia and despite my fear of poisonous creatures in the water, I’m glad I went tubing down the river. When I found myself focusing on the positives, such as how our cabin had a fan, the heat became much more tolerable. I learned so much and had such a wonderful and fun time in the Amazon jungle heat, and I would honestly love to come back again.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 7; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0354s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb