The Relational Level #3 - Horseback Riding


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » Centre » Baños
January 29th 2020
Published: January 29th 2020
Edit Blog Post

Me and TornadoMe and TornadoMe and Tornado

Despite his name, Tornado was a very sweet and tame horse, and he made the ride very enjoyable. The view was also spectacular from the top!
A few days ago we stayed in Banos, Ecuador, and it was wonderful. There was also a plethora of things to do – from hiking up the mountains to swimming in the sulfur hot springs, we were never bored in Banos.

My friends Lauren and Olivia and I decided to go horseback riding. José was our horse wrangler/tour guide, and he was quite a character. He spoke very good English, so we didn’t have any trouble communicating with him during the ride. He first instructed us on the basics of riding, and then he fondly told us which horses we would be on. I got Tornado, his favorite. He was such a sweetheart and gave me no trouble on our way up and down the mountains.

As we started out, we made light conversation with José. I asked him how long he’s been in this business, and he smiled and replied that he’s been doing this ever since he was five. This has been a family business for the past eighty years, and now it’s his turn to continue the family legacy.

I thought long and hard not just about what he said, but the way that he
The GangThe GangThe Gang

Pictured above are me, Lauren, Olivia, and José, our fantastic tour guide.
said it. He is proud to work in the field that he does. He’s found his calling, and it was so cool to see the way that it lit up his life and made him happy.

Processing this helped me broaden my CQ Drive and CQ Knowledge. According to Leading with Cultural Intelligence, CQ Drive involves being personally engaged and having the interest, confidence, and drive to adapt and excel cross-culturally (Livermore 27), while CQ Knowledge is more about understanding the differences in cultures and how it shapes they way you think and behave (Livermore 28).

Since Lauren and Olivia and I were so eager to experience Banos and the culture, we stepped outside our comfort zone and developed our CQ Drive by going by ourselves with a strange man up into the mountains. As a result, I experienced a life highlight – I went out and rode a horse up a mountain range and drank bubbling water from a volcano. That was so cool and so much fun!

I also developed my CQ Knowledge by talking with José – in the States, going to college and working a steady job is the American dream, but in Ecuador it’s so different. People often follow in their family’s footsteps and pursue dreams and goals with the whole family in mind due to the culture being more collective than our individualistic one (Livermore 101). Hearing José talk about his family business reminded me of that difference, and I wish that our culture would learn a thing or two from Ecuador and understand the value of family.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 7; qc: 42; dbt: 0.0356s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb