Baños: the thermal baths ? Well, other things more interesting !


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » Centre » Baños
December 11th 2010
Published: December 13th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Hey dudes !!

Yesterday morning I left Latacunga to go to Baños. This place is very well known for the thermal baths, but Baños is for me the starting point for a rafting trip in Puyo (see the dedicated post).
So, after a nice ride to Ambato (45 min), I changed bus to get one for Baños. Man, I think Fangio got a child in Ecuador. The guy was driving like the bus is a sport car. The fact is this bus was heading to Puyo with a stop in Baños. In front of us, a direct bus to Baños. And the drivers were basically racing. Pretty scaring. But still alive !!

Once you arrive in Baños, you just can t believe it. Soooo many foreigners. Only travel agencies around.
But it is very a laid-back place, despite being so touristic. It feels great.
As usual, heading to the hotel to drop my bag. This time I go for the Santa Cruz. ok place, nothing special. Lots of travelers, so good point to share experiences ang get tips. But I DO NOT recommend the laundry next door, Nicole. Except if you want to get your clothes destroyed..
Going around, I book my tour for tomorrow, get lunch in the street with all the vendors (an amaaaazing plate of pollo / papas / ensalada for 2USD), and head to the waterfall. And then...internet cafe because not much to do aside outdoor activities.
I went to the cruce on the top of the hill to see the volcano eruption. Well, you actually have a nice view of the city, but for the eruption you can come again... so tonight I go the San Francisco bridge, where you are supposed to have a better ones...

Best stuff of the day: the little cable car over the river. check the pics !


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement



14th December 2010

Ecuador Travel
Hi Jjingle, I love your pictures. http://www.surtrek.com

Tot: 0.163s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0457s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb