Hey ma, I was having a bad day so I jumped off a bridge and now I feel a lot better


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » Centre » Baños
August 2nd 2008
Published: August 2nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Baños finally!!! (after a 5 hour bus ride, not 3.5) Quiero vivir en Baños. si es mejor de mi Guayaquil no puedo decir, pero I LOVE IT. Thepeople, the places to stay, the things to do, the prices. LOVE IT. Oh and it´s really tiny and in my first 2 hours here I had already seen people from the last time, like Edison the Bartender of the Leprachaun. Veronica and I ate at some cute little place and then went to Vulcan Peña, danced, danced, danced, and came home. I love that people here can salsa and merengue and whatnot. In fact, in Baños more people know how than in Guayaquil. That´s actually dancing. (side note, I regret not having kept a journal outside of this, like one that´all train of thought and gets down to all the details that nobody else cares to know besides me).

Hoy fuimos a Pelileo because Veronica and Fito forgot to wake up for their canyoning excursion. It´s cool but not all it´s made out to be. I did buy a pair of negros con bosillos for $10, which took awhile. Latin jeans aren´t my thing. Got back and I was grumpy (ñasudfgsperpoird) so I chilled in my room and then went to call mommy. From there I was walking the one block of Baños when veronica calld and advised me we were all going on a cascadas tour so I bought an icecream and went. It costed $6, which is wrong ($3) but they charged more ebcause they were mad that V hadn´t shown up in the morning, but worth it. I ended up paying $12 to see all the major waterfalls in the area, hike down the the bottom on Machay, ride a completely unsafe cable car across a canyon, and ...oh yea- JUMP OFF A BRIDGE! Sweet. I had wanted to do it when we went canyoning xq I watched Diego jump off and it looked so liberating. So I did it. And I went head first. Imagine a bridge with a scary river and rocks underneath and the standing on the edge and diving into it. Yea, it´s great. and it was raining. Just do it sometime so you know what I mean. There´s more but I will save it xq I don´t feel like typing today.

Right now estoy esperando por the others and then we will get food and then Leprachaun. Yaaayy!! I love this place and the coolness of it just conglomerates at that place. Not to mention I happen to know half the people who work or go there already. Tonight I hope I meet some cool people from Argentina, Wales, and Russia. Yesterday I met 2 girls who studied in Montañita for 3 weeks. They are still alive. Wow.

Tomorrow I am leaving Baños : ( to catch my flight in Quito at 530. When I get back to Guayaquil I will look for anyone who wants to go to the beach on Sunday (that I would like to go with) and then pack my bags. I am worried everything won´t fit. I can´t believe I am leaving here. I am already anticipating the next time I can come back, which I will do with an empty suitcase. Maybe next time it will be permanent.

Okay home, maybe one more update before I leave, but if not I´ll see you soon NJ.

PS- forgot to say in the Quito entry that the driver lady that we used, her sobrino, told me I have an excellent accent and he wouldn´t have known I am from EEUU if I didn´t say it. That´s a bit hard to believe but I am happy with it. Less and less people first question is de donde eres? Success!!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.044s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0259s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1016.6kb