We All Live In America


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New Jersey
August 7th 2008
Published: August 7th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I am feeling nostalgic. Hence, my sentences will start with "I". My last couple days were spent on the other side of the spectrum with the people who couldn't afford trivial spending. We went to a skate park near Mall del Sol and I fell on my ass trying to go down a ramp. I was given a skate magazine with pictures of people I actually knew. I walked a lot because taxis were too expensive. I sat in parks with a cup of Pilsener because it is cheaper than going to Malecon.

I arrived home at 5:30 AM after an extremely sad and lonely flight that started at the airport 1:00 the day before. Sitting there for 2 hours before my flight all I could do was look out at my city and promise I would come back. It was heartbreaking. At the stop in Costa Rica I felt completely disconnected because I could not call anyone and was halfway between the 2 places I could be comfortable, let alone in a country where a medium fry costs $3. Getting to JFK was a culture shock as I made my way through customs, greeting people with "Buenas" and getting a funny look before realizing I should be speaking in English. In all honesty, this is what I wanted, so have to adjust to speaking English again. I realize now how much time I spent not answering people and just listening because it took too long to formulate the words. Now I have no excuse and need to speak.

Really though, I want to go back. I missed my family and friends and Tasha and home, but there were so many things over there that made me feel like I am leaving part of another home. My friends, my family, my city. I miss the Latin family, where everyone gets along and loves each other. I miss the kindness, not the sarcastic American affection. I miss the fresh food and home cooked meals. I miss taxis and close vacinities. I miss cheap prices and ice cream cones that don't cost $3.25 or taste like sour milk. I miss sitting in La Garzota until 4:00 AM with friends just talking, in Spanish of course. I even miss people bugging me to buy their boot-legged movies, socks, or empanadas wherever I go.

Besides that, I am glad to be home again with my family, who I am going to try my hardest to mold into the loving, close families I witnessed. It was a great run Ecuador, I'll see you soon. Te extrano mucho.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.13s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0734s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.2mb