My first 2 weeks !


Advertisement
Colombia's flag
South America » Colombia
January 29th 2011
Published: January 29th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Hi everyone ! Well I told myself I would try to keep this blog updated every 2 weeks ! So here I am, almost 2 weeks passed since I have been gone from Quebec !

So I just left Quebec on a sunday night to catch a night bus and take my plane which was leaving from Montreal at 7 in the morning. Like everytime i have to catch a flight early in the morning, my flight was delayed. This time it was 5 hours. To be honnest with you, I couldnt care less because i was looking foward to my 3 months of vacation !

So after a little nap I took my flight and went straight to Cartagena. Cartagena is a nice city surrounded by walls. I was quite amazed when I was walking around town. There is not much to do beside walking and chilling out. Obviously I went out at night. One night was in another hostel where a local bang was playing local music ! Pretty cool. I got to meet some very nice people as well.

After Cartagena I went to Santa Marta, where I am at the moment. Went to the beach on my first day to a little town close from here called Taganga. The second day i walked around town and at night, i signed up for a party bus called "Chiva Bus". You basically drive around town with loud music and a bunch of alcohol ! Then got to sleep a couple hours and went diving in the morning. 2 fun dives which were very cheap ! My diving licence allows me to go down to 18 meters... went down to 30... oups. After that i went trekking for 5 days to a place called Ciudad Perdida. You walk in the Colombian jungle for 3 days and you arrive at this mystik place. You have also amazing landscapes with the Colombian moutains... probably one of the best 5 days of my entire life ! I came back yesterday and was supposed to catch a night bus to get to San Gil but the people I met during my trek were so nice I decided to stay here one more night and party with them... And last night was indeed, pretty Epic !!!

When you travel, they say "People make the places", which was the case so far, Ive been quite lucky because I made lots of good friends over the past 2 weeks! So whats the plans for the upcoming weeks... im getting to San Gil tonight by night bus, i could stay on the caribean coast a lot longer but I have to get the fuck out of here before i decide to stay here forever ahaha ! In San Gil i am planning on doing white river rafting, paragliding in a canyon (which should be totally insane !!!) and maybe some other extreme sports... The usual stuff you know !!!

Colombia has been amazing so far ! I had no idea what to expect at the beginning but wow... the slogan of the country is...el riesgo es que te quieras quedar.. which means in English the only danger is wanting to stay.. and to be honnest... thats definitely the case !

If you have a few seconds give me some news !!!

Bizzxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Advertisement



4th February 2011

Oh wow! Je suis tombe sur ton blogue comme ca...ca me rapelle des souvenirs! jetais la en septembre dernier et jai adore le pays! il faudra que tu goutes les hormingas culonas (fourmis avec un gros cul!) a san gil! happy travels~~~ from a fellow quebecer hehe

Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0396s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb