A night with the Mariachis


Advertisement
Colombia's flag
South America » Colombia » Bogota
February 10th 2007
Published: February 10th 2007
Edit Blog Post

A night with the Mariachis

 South America » Colombia » Bogota By pipincolombia
February 10th 2007 The Mariachis are traditional Mexican musicians and special occassions are often spent at one of the Mariachi bars in Bogota, where traditional Mexican music is alternated with Colombian hits for a night of Latin beats.

The special occassion in this case was the birthday and wedding anniversary of my host mum´s sister and also my first opportunity to meet the whole extended family. But much to my horror no more than 5 minutes after my arrival, while i was still trying to figure out who was who and understand what everyone was talking about, the uncle decided to drag me up to the dance floor - which also happened to be the stage - for a stone cold sober salsa lesson infront of not only the whole family but the whole Mariachi bar ... one of my more embarrassing moments in life.

Fortunately however the rum soon started flowing and with Colombia´s answer to pop idol and a series of famous Mexicans hitting the stage i soon found my dancing feet. Cheesy pix follow


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

My host mum on the right ...My host mum on the right ...
My host mum on the right ...

her sister (the birthday / anniversary girl) on the left, and a big cheesy grin in the background!
Colombia´s answer to pop idol Colombia´s answer to pop idol
Colombia´s answer to pop idol

Yes they have Pop Idol here and its just as rubbish as it is in England, but here we have one of the runners strutting his stuff!
Me & YinaMe & Yina
Me & Yina

my host sister


Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0321s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb