Fiesta in the mountains


Advertisement
Colombia's flag
South America » Colombia » Bogota
January 29th 2007
Published: January 29th 2007
Edit Blog Post

On the 27th of January each year thousands of Bogotonians head to Ubaque for a gruelling four hour climb up the mountain and a not so gruelling party all the way down. The photos tell the rest of the story ...


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

Up in the mountainsUp in the mountains
Up in the mountains

The view en route to the top was amazing. Unfortunately I was so busy trying to breathe I didnt see much of it!
My walking crewMy walking crew
My walking crew

And here are the people that dragged me out of bed at 6am on a saturday morning for the gruelling 8 hour hike
When it seemed so easy When it seemed so easy
When it seemed so easy

This was half an hour into the climb when i had absolutely no idea what lay instore for me. If i had have known, I´d have stayed in bed!
The path gets steeper ...The path gets steeper ...
The path gets steeper ...

... and believe me it is a lot steeper than it looks. Almost vertical infact!
At last, at the top ...At last, at the top ...
At last, at the top ...

And with Bogota in the distance just look how far we climbed!
Fiesta at the top Fiesta at the top
Fiesta at the top

To celebrate making it to the top the Colombians set up a makeshift camp comprising of beer, more beer and lots of revolting meat
Finally, finished the hard partFinally, finished the hard part
Finally, finished the hard part

Half way down and we receive a badge telling us how we did. I was number 4868 ... can not believe that many people beat me!
Finally civilsation .. UbaqueFinally civilsation .. Ubaque
Finally civilsation .. Ubaque

the small town at the bottom of the mountains
Fiesta in UbaqueFiesta in Ubaque
Fiesta in Ubaque

More music, more beer


31st January 2007

How awesome!! It beats any hiking in Thailand! Rather you than me!!! Looks bloomin' amazing... and all that meat!!! Go Girl!
4th February 2007

Vegetarian's worse nightmare!!
Yuck! The big mountain of meat is not what you want to see after all that hiking. Where were they hiding the quorn? Still, I suppose the beer was compensation....... Take care, and don't go all carnivorous on us!! XX
4th February 2007

Meat....
hhhmmmmmm meat...Pip what are you going to do? Your going to starve. Looks amazing though, I think I'm happy just checking out your photo's for now though, rather than doing it myself. Tara
7th February 2007

Meat Feast
Great update! Nice to see you hiking and breaking a sweat. What inappropriate footwear though - must watch those ankles! Even I was repulsed by the meat feast which says a lot. Vegetarian dinner tonight. Thinking of you loads. Debsx

Tot: 0.168s; Tpl: 0.034s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.1216s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb