Buying Bottles in VIP, Trying to Talk to Highfalutin Santiagan Ice Queens and Valparaiso y tambien Vina del Mar and the Beach with Compadres


Advertisement
Published: April 7th 2011
Edit Blog Post

So we did indeed go to the club and boy was it a wild night. It was Aldo’s birthday and he wanted to buy a bottle himself but I told him that I don’t care how they do it in France, when it’s a man’s birthday he doesn’t buy his own drinks so I tossed the old Bank of America Platinum Black card down with some serious buying power and we proceeded to dance the night away. I try to watch my money while travelling but as Mattcam put it, that’s just a reckless disregard for my money which is so true. There were a lot of really hot girls at this club and we were in VIP so I figured that we’d be able to talk to some of them or at least make some progress with maybe a few of them. NOPE. These girls just didn’t give a shit about us or what we were trying to say! I was on my Spanish A Game too and even then they would either just laugh or walk away from us. We talked to some guys from Santiago and I guess there is a huge class system here that causes the richer more posh girls to judge people by the way they look and what they are all about in terms of what they have. My stretch pants and Detroit tigers t-shirt may not have been the best clothes to go out in! Anyways Joey and I tried to talk to about 10 different girls and got shot down every time, I did make some progress with a couple but still they just weren’t all that impressed. I will tell you something, when I get back to Chicago there is no way I am not walking up to every girl I see in the bar and talking to her no matter how hot she is. That is for god damn sure!! But anyways we ended up leaving the bar and I got my tab and it was 86,000 pesos! That’s definitely he biggest bill I have ever gotten, but it worked out to about 200 American dollars so it wasn’t horrible in the end, but much more than I wanted to spend. The club was super far away from where we were staying so the cab wasn’t cheap but we got back and I ate some pasta that Rhianna, the Aussie girl from our hostel left, she told me I could eat it. Joey and Brett made enough pasta for five men and ate it all, stayed up till 730am talking and eating and we had to get up the next day for Valpo! It wasn’t a pretty sight the next morning that is for sure. We got up around noon, we were supposed to check out of the hostel at 11am and I looked over at Brett and asked if we should go, Joey was on the top bunk, and Brett just looked over and said, Valpo’s not that far away lets sleep some more! Hahahahh so hilarious. I walked past the front desk and the girl goes, “umm excuse me? Checkout?” hahah I was like yes yes we are working on it. That hostel is really cool though and no one cares about anything and it’s all very chill so they were totally fine with it. Brett, joey, and I packed up all our stuff and stored it in the hostel, packing our shit up was like the most labor intensive project when we were still pretty hammered and on a very small amount of sleep! We got it done though and went to get some cigarettes and to a café con piernes but this place was like the tip top of class. The chicks are basically in g strings and bras and they give you dances for a small drink which costs like 4 bucks. It was a very nice way to start the day. Brett had a great time. After that we got back to the hostel and headed to the bust station to make our way to Valparaiso. It was very simple, we took the metro and the bus goes right to Valpo for a small fee, it was solid and we were here in like an hour and a half. We arrived and tried to get our bearings and sat down at a little bar by the bus station to look at a map and find a place to stay. We ended up walking to the area where we needed to go, it was like a half hour walk with all of our stuff but wasn’t too bad. We randomly found a hostel on this street we were walking up and it turns out that this place is right by the Dutchie’s hostel, which is where Aaron and Rhianna were also staying, where we wanted to be so it worked out well. We got our shit settled and decided to go get some dinner and some drinks. We went to this pretty cool restaurant with a live guitarist and the menu wasn’t all that cheap however the food was amazing. I had Chilean sea bass and Brett had salmon and joey had scallops. Dinner was fairly expensive but it was amazing and well worth it for fresh seafood. After dinner we walked a little ways up some of the nearby streets to find a bar where we can go get some booze. We found a very Chilean place where we were the only gringos, como siempre, and we had a few beers there. It was a cool place and I enjoyed the vibe. Afterwards we went across the street to another bar that had three levels and we placed ourselves on the third level in the back. We spent a lot of time there hanging out talking and just as we were leaving, we saw a guy from our hostel who was in our room from Mexico named Mauricio! I couldn’t believe that we ran into him there in such a big town and third floor back corner is where he comes to hang out. We had another beer and then proceeded to go to “EL Huevo” which is a huge bar that has 4 levels and probably 20 dance floors. We talked with a bunch of girls but they were all students and like 18-22 years old which is by no means a bad thing but defiantly harder to talk to these younger chicks, although I think they enjoyed the fact that I was a little older. I had mild success but nothing to write home about. After the club we were heading back home and found a place open late for some food however it was packed and we left shortly after we arrived so it wasn’t all that great. Brett and Joey were super drunk and they said they knew a shortcut home, which since we’d been there for six total hours I knew was complete bullshit but I went with them and gave protest the whole way. Well whadya know? We got fucking lost at 5am on the streets of Valparaiso!! It took us about an hour to get our shit straight and figure out where we were. We found a street dog we named Rabius (because all the Dutch call all street dogs Rabius) and he followed us the whole night while we were lost. Brett had a rudimentary map given to us by the hostel but some of the streets didn’t even have names on it so it was really hard to read! We finally got our bearings and made it back to the hostel accompanied the whole way by our new friend Rabius. Brett and Joey wanted to bring him into the hostel but I advised that was a worse idea than taking that god awful shortcut and they eventually agreed hahaha. We finally got to bed around 6am or so. When I woke up I saw that there was a note on our door from the Dutchies, they had stopped by last night to find us but we were hammered and didn’t see the note and it said to meet at 11am and it was like 10 so I went back to bed and then went to their hostel to meet them. They were happy to see me and we all decided that we were heading to the beach. It was a beautiful day here today and we got our lives together, had to switch hostels and proceeded to hop on a bus to Vina del Mar which is about ten minutes away and has some beautiful beaches. We hung out for a while on the beach and chilled two very cute British girls, the two Dutchies, me, Brett, Joey, Aaron the Aussie, Rhianna the other Aussie, and some Canadians. We got a game of kickball going which was really fun until this one stupid street dog, or beach dog, popped the ball!! The water was really cold but we still went in and had a great time at the beach all day. It was one of the best day’s we’ve had thus far that is for sure. We’re back at our new hostel now and getting ready to go out and get fucked up!!! Wish us luck, we’ve been averaging about 4-5 hours of sleep per night so one of these days it’s going to catch up with me! Word to your mothers and love from abroad.


Additional photos below
Photos: 57, Displayed: 28


Advertisement



Tot: 0.137s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0894s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb