Night Out in Valparaiso and the Lovely Graffiti Around this Port City


Advertisement
Published: April 9th 2011
Edit Blog Post

We went out to the bar on April 7th or the night of April 7th rather and it was an amazing time. Joey, the Dutchies , Rhianna, and I all went to dinner at a nice little place near our hostel, Joey and I were so hungry since we really hadn’t eaten much all day and were at the beach in the sun. We wanted to try a local dish called Chorillana and the restaurant had it, but our eyes were bigger than our stomachs and like idiots we ordered the portion for 4 people and the two of us split it. The girls thought we were crazy! And in fact we were, it was so much food, we did some damage on it but not quite as much as we’d hoped and had to leave a fair amount. The food consisted of French fries, fried onions, cheese, and pork bits, with fried eggs on top. It was like drunk food for the gods and was delicious but certainly took its toll on us. Joey was debating on puking it back up later on just so he wouldn’t feel so full! We went back to the Dutchies hostel and met Aaron, our Australian friend, and Brett, who were both with the two British girls and they were drinking sangria and everyone seemed pretty drunk. We went to a bar called Mascara with all the people from the Dutchie’s hostel as well as Joey, Brett, and I. basically it was the same crew that went to the beach that day plus the owners of the girls’ hostel, it was pretty cool and very fun. We all danced all night long and Marjolein and I were definitely vibing each other and basically we took off early, around 3am back to our hostel to make some things happen. Joey was already back in the hostel and was telling me that there was someone else in the room, I looked at Marjolein and she looked at me and we were both like, well we don’t mind! Hahaha it was great. We spent a wonderful night together and really didn’t want her to leave in the morning but I needed to get her out of the hostel ASAP since I would have had to pay for another night if she stayed, which I didn’t want to do. We kissed goodbye, and she was leaving for Mendoza that day but not until the evening so I told her I would come by the hostel later and we could go do some things around the city since I wanted to check out Valpo during the day and see what it was all about. The day wasn’t as nice as the day before, it was drizzling and kind of overcast but we walked around the city and took a lot of pictures of the graffiti around the city. I am not sure why there is so much graffiti around but it’s all very artsy and definitely adds a cool vibe to the city. We walked around all day basically and then got some food afterwards, it was a nasty messy burger with palta and mayo on it and I could barely eat the whole thing! Marjolein had the same and she clearly couldn’t finish it. She was leaving on the bus that night so after we ate I accompanied her to the grocery store to get some food for her ride there. The supermarket was modern and just like America, however this one had two floors! We got the food and I walked her back to her hostel and I went back to mine to lie down for a while and chill out. I passed out for a few hours and woke up to her getting into bed with me and Doortje was sitting on the floor talking to Joey and Brett. We lay in bed for a while and talked and kissed a little bit, she was sad she had to leave and I was also, I didn’t want her to go we had a great time with those girls. We said our goodbyes after I walked them back to their hostel and joey and I went in search of some food and some wine for dinner. We got some meat and cheese as well as some wine for dinner and went back to the hostel to make some grub. We made some sandwiches and drank a little, the hostel was giving out free Pisco sour’s that night so we had some of those and decided it would be a good idea to go out to the bar. We went to a couple of places and then back to Huevo, which wasn’t all that great since there weren’t all that many people there. We went in search of some street food after the bar and we found some but it was disgusting! Covered in mayo and palta, which is normally alright but it was so sloppy and we lost a lot of it on the ground and I had to wipe my hands on the walls of a building and my pants in order to have them be semi clean. It wasn’t so good that’s for sure. I woke up this morning and all the clothes I’d been wearing were covered with ketchup and palta and mayo and grossness! This morning was rough; we got our lives together and headed to the bust station to come back to Santiago. We’re back here now at the same hostel, Santiago Backpacker’s hostel and it feels like home, I really enjoy this place and could spend a lot of time here. We’ll probably be going out tonight since we’re making some more sangria right now and I will update everyone on the goings on of tonight. I am looking forward to sleeping all day tomorrow. It’s going to be lovely.


Additional photos below
Photos: 66, Displayed: 26


Advertisement



10th April 2011

Bellisimo!!!
13th April 2011

HAHA
Tom, I love your stories. This blog was the best idea you had when you went down there. I'll say however, the quality of writing has gone down a bit lately. I think it might have something to do with all the alcohol. Nice Work Tommy. I still love reading about your adventures. Love you guys Rick

Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0555s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb