Santiago and Cafe con Piernes


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Santiago Region » Santiago
April 5th 2011
Published: April 5th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Today we had to switch rooms in the hostel so I got up around 10am to pack my bag so we could leave however the nanny quit so the other room wasn’t ready for us. Joey and I had a coffee; I slept very poorly last night, had very bad dreams and lay awake for almost two hours in the middle of the night so I was pretty tired. We waited for a while around the hostel and I Skyped with a few people as we were waiting for our room, I had a turkey sandwich with avocado and tomatoes and cheese and then our room was ready so I took a shower finally and switched rooms. It’s our French friend Aldo’s birthday today so he, Joey, and I took a walk around the city and took a funicular up to the top of a mountain nearby for a view of the city. It was very nice and there was a statue of the Virgin Mary at the top and it was very peaceful and spiritual even though I am not very religious, I still said a small prayer to whatever or whoever is up there for a two friends of mine that gave me some very sad news today. I am hoping that both friends will be ok and they are in my thoughts. I received an email from the branch manager of the CHRW office here in Santiago and he and I are going to meet on Monday. We decided that we are going to Valparaiso for a couple days and returning this weekend. We were supposed to see Bomba Estereo tonight however they cancelled the show because the lead singer is sick! What the fuck!! We got back from the walk today and came back to the hostel and gathered up Brett and Aldo’s friend Nicholas and we went to a “café con piernes” which is coffee with legs where the waitresses wear skimpy outfits but it’s very classy and you have to tip them. The coffee was very good and we enjoyed the company. We went afterwards to another “café con piernes” but this place was not a coffee bar, it was a strip club. We had a drink and flirted with some strippers and then got the fuck out of there. The hostel was offering some free dinner tonight and we ate just now and we’ll probably go out to a club and tomorrow buy our ticket to Valpo. We’ll talk tomorrow. Enjoy the photos.


Additional photos below
Photos: 27, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0563s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb