It's like going to a gym for the first time...


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Santiago Region
January 6th 2010
Published: January 6th 2010
Edit Blog Post

So it's day four? I don't really even know anymore, it all just sort of runs together. I have had quite the time already. So the first day of school, I arrive and they greet me and ask my name. My excellent knowledge of Spanish didn't include 'le nombre' which means name. So like the awesome person I am, I respond without thinking, 'oh you want my number??!!'. So off to a great start. They had a trial test to see where to place the new students... I put my name and handed it back. So needless to say, I am a true beginner at this. There is 7 of us in the one class. A guy from Toronto who can't roll his rrrrr's for the life of him. Makes me secretly happy on the inside to see him struggle. That's mean I suppose but hey, I bet he knew how to answer his name when he walked in.

There is a wide variety of people at the school but the majority is Brazilians and Scandinavians. So during break time, I am surrounded by another language I don't know. There is a girl from England in my class who is quite lovely (and that should be pronounced with an English accent 😊. Her and I are headed to the coast this weekend I think. Can't remember the name of the town right now. She has done a trip around the world for the past year. Quite inspiring actually.

I am getting much more comfortable here now. I find the streets non threatening and people are quite laid back. Even at the drug store where I bought sunscreen for my vibrant red skin (I went walking and I guess I'd forgotten that my winter skin needs protection), there is just a pull tab thing on the wall. So u just take a number and the screen shows when u need to stand in line. It's also neat because a lot of pubs and clothing stores close during the heat of the day. It's no biggie to take a siesta. Which I love!

What I don't particularly love is my host families cooking. Maybe I'm just used to eating cactus club food everyday, but I find the food to be rather bland and dry. Example, for breakfast she has bread wafer things. About the size of the bottom part of a bagel. You could throw that and do some serious damage to a person (very dry and hard). They do have amazing gallato ice cream!!

Last night there was a jazz concert in the park. It's nice because they have events every night of the week for students. Tonight is salsa classes... Oh dear lord, if I go I am pretty sure I will reinforce the fact that canadian white girls can't dance like Latino women!

Overall it is going amazing! A little overwelming at first but it just takes a little time to adjust.

Advertisement



6th January 2010

Very funny. You are turning out to be an excellent blogger. I would like to see more entries. You are never boring to me.
6th January 2010

that is so awesome that you have a friend in your class already!!! :) she sounds so inspiring - a world trip for a year, wow!!! but then again, you are so inspiring too, to be on this trip!!! love love love the siestas.....i wish we had that in canada hey? anyways, thanks for sharing all about your trip on here! i am loving following it!!!
7th January 2010

Amazing
It,s so good to hear how things are going for you,I'm sure some times it's hard but you are an amazing girl and i know you are going to do great .It sounds like so much fun.
12th January 2010

Just one tid bit.
May i be so bold as to suggest that you may want to publicly revoke your statement, "canadian white girls cant dance like latino women." Please Ethel dont go generalizing us all in this way. I know for a fact shake my minimal white 'money maker' just as well as one of my latino sisters. Sincerely, Slim.

Tot: 0.161s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0586s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb