The beginning


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Santiago Region » Providencia
January 3rd 2010
Published: January 3rd 2010
Edit Blog Post

Some of you know, but for those that don't, I'm on a 3 month adventure in south America! I am in chile for 3 weeks, Argentina for 3, then peru for 4. The last two weeks are unknown but that's half the fun... Not knowing where I'll be, who I will meet and what I'll be doing. For 8 weeks I am taking Spanish lessons at a school called ECELA. What started me on this journey is a number of things. I didn't wake up one morning and just decide to pack up my life and come down to the bottom of the world.
I had always wanted to travel, but things, aka life, always just got in the way. But it's always been a goal of mine to learn another language. So I figured why not do both, travel and learn to speak Spanish??! Being in Santiago for just one day makes me wish I had at least tried to learn some phrases before I came. Haha I guess it serves me right for being lazy.
I am not a 'blogger' nor am I the best writer you'll ever meet. Also please keep on mind I am typing this on a iPod... So if I have spelling mistakes, it's not me 😉 The reason I want to have this blog is not to brag and say how cool my time is here. More than likely, when I'm writing it is when I'm basically all alone and this my way of communicating with the people I miss. I just want to maybe inspire and get people to see if I can do it, so can they! Well I guess I will find out if travelling alone is something to encourage or not.

So I am going to spend the next 3 weeks living in a cute little house with a 73 year old Chilean grandma. She speaks zero English... Oddly enough, I speak zero Spanish. I arrived here at 8 in the morning. Thankfully her grand daughter was here, who is 12, and she communicates quite well. I went on a walk with her and santiago, despite what I read online, is quite beautiful. This morning I thought the mountains were clouds because they are so tall. Either that or I sleep deprived and stressed out.

I am living in a neighbourhood called providencia. It is where the university is and a nicer area of the city. So far I haven't seen the city in action. Everything is closed on Sundays. Like walking down the street feels weird because it's a wall of metal bars infront of all the shops. Props to whoever decided that Sunday you shouldn't work...oh that was god in the bible. Hah north Americans should take after Chileans.

So I may have rambled on... I guess that's how it goes when I'm not able to talk much. I am realizing that I like to talk... Some of you probably already figured that out! Well I conveniently forgot my alarm clock, so I may or may not miss the first day of my class tomorrow .

Advertisement



4th January 2010

pictures
Hi Darc So good to see you have started your blog. I'm excited to be able to read about your adventures. Will there be a way for you to add pictures? I miss you already but am glad you are there and have a nice family to stay with. See you soon. MOM
6th January 2010

Yay!
You are so cute! We all know you like to talk, and I like to hear it. I will be listening to your rambling! Have fun Darc

Tot: 0.136s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 47; dbt: 0.062s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb