What a week!


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Santiago Region
January 10th 2010
Published: January 11th 2010
Edit Blog Post

It's amazing how much one person can do in one week! It's also amazing how little one can do in a week. I remember some weeks passing by at home and realizing I actually did nothing! It's sad how easy it is to fall into complatency and not do anything new or different. But the beauty about realizing that, is today is the perfect day to start! Haha that's my new years 'resolution'. Cause I've got to come back to real life one day. BUT in the mean time, things are far from ordinary!!

So my espanol is still just as bad as ever unfortunately. Well I can understand some things. A couple days ago in class the teacher (who will not speak English to us at all) was asking us to explain what the main food was in our country. I swear, i sat there for 20 minutes trying my absolute hardest to figure it out. But really what would you say Canadas main dish is?! I also feel like I have become retarded! My English is terrible and I have difficulties even knowing simple things. Example, what's the leader of Canada?? Haha I couldn't remember for the life of me. Good thing I can laugh it off and make a joke about my fried brains. Ooh fun fact, i have started dreaming in Spanish.... Still can't understand a darn word. I can't escape it!! Haha it is definitely different than I expected.

So yesterday I went white water rafting in the andes! Amazing, even though the river is completely brown and the boat I was in had to be pumped up 3 times before we took off. Slightly skechy but I survived not the less. It was a crazy river ride and extremely cold. I love there was an old man (73 yrs) who is at the school and he went rafting.

That's been my favorite part of this last week. Just meeting and talking to people from all over te world! Last night I was out for a cervasa (beer) and in a table of 8 or so, I was the only one from America. Everyone was from europe. I almost know more German words than Spanish 😊

today I went to my teachers place for an authenic Chilean meal. But first he took us to the market place. We selected the fish, spices, potatoes and lemons (which are the size of grapefruits). The meal was fantastic and I'm luckly because the seafood there is really fresh and cheap. Minus the fact I have fish slim on my flip flops I really liked the market place.

I have done quite a bit of sight seeing. Going downtown and seeing the government buildings and such. Their political history is something I don't know much about but I should! A president not too long ago was a tyrrant and the current football stadium is where he used to take and torchure people. It makes you think how that only happened 30 years ago and how that has affected how people act now. Don't quote me on te 30 years. As we all know, my brain is fried. But the city is so relaxed and the chileans are laid back. Walking down the street, mid rush hour even, I'm passing people and I'm simply strolling along. Ooh and this is fun, when you go to the park, the grass is littered with couples cannodling. I need to take a picture really.

I feel like this wasn't that interesting of a blog. Everything sort of runs together. I always think, ooh that would be great to write about. I do know that I have had an amazing first week. I'm so blessed to have met so many interesting, good people. And thank you all from the bottom of my heart for the messages and the support. Love you all!!

Advertisement



11th January 2010

torchure
"torchure"? you mean torture? You make me laugh...
11th January 2010

Ok I saw my spelling mistake, but it's practically impossible to go back and change anything on this iPod. SOoo I did notice but hey, it's all part of the Beauty of reading my blog. Extra flavour :)
16th January 2010

spelinng isnnt taht bahd! ;)
I'm glad your blogging cause how else would we know how your doing? And your stories are very interresting and funny. I hardly notice your spelling mistakes since my spelling is so bad.... so don't worry about it. Glad your enjoying yourself! Love you, Lance

Tot: 0.247s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.1069s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb