Arriving into my fantastic appartment for a peaceful, safe weekend


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Santiago Region » Santiago
February 7th 2015
Published: February 22nd 2015
Edit Blog Post

Not long after tuning into Patrick Swayze, I found myself back in safe Santiago, and then at the very impressive appartment I’d rented out after the unpleasant few days and nights I’d spent in Valparaiso. It was in the same neighbourhood as I had stayed in before, in Providencia, one of the wealthiest and safest areas. The self-catering appartment had been cheap, on special offer for the weekend as most people go on holiday at the weekend. As it is the hottest time of the year people head out of the city to do either outdoor activities or go to the coast. The apartment has two bedrooms, two bathrooms, a kitchen with all the mod-cons,a sofa and a terrace. I had only paid for the price of one room with a bathroom but I got the entire appartment. The building also has a gym too.

The only drawback is that it had advertised a swimming pool but the swimming pool is closed for maintenance. The apartment is also on the 20th floor of the building, which in a seismically active country such as Chile may have been a good reason why I got it so cheap. I immediately unpacked everything just to make the most of the space, and stacked the fridge full of the freshest fruit, cheese, ham, olives, yoghurts, I bought lots of water, lemon balm tea, ginger beer and small bottles of the best wine from a local bodega. By Monday I will be back to paying for £12 a night dorm beds, and sharing with 3 to 7 other people.

EVENING

It was after eating my fresh green olives, cheese, bread, peanuts, delicious honey yoghurt and drinking a small bottle of Cabernet Sauvignon wine from a local bodega that I began to fall more and more in love with the world. Laying on my couch in my living room of my 20th floor appartment, without having to get up and with the terrace door open I could listen to the sounds of cars passing by and look at the skyline of the mountains as the contrasts between it, the clouds and sky began to get clearer as the sun began to set. Below I could see the hundreds of artificial lights in Santiago, from high rise buildings, from streetlights and from traffic lights all combining to emphasise the natural beauty of the mountains, cloud in the background and as the night went on I could see the stars and the purple lights of a disco nearby. There it was a pure contrast between artificial and natural beauty.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.33s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0828s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb