Santiago de Chile


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Santiago Region » Santiago
January 25th 2006
Published: February 2nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Sydney to Santiago


Good question....Good question....Good question....

Santiago wasnt the most interesting city I came across...
Please let me know if you can see the pictures ok as they seem to be very dark on the monitor here but I suspect that this is more a problem with the monitor not the pictures.

Santiago De Chile the first stop on my journey. The not so good new is that the city itself is not that exciting and doesn’t offer a lot for the tourist. Luckily I had only one day here while waiting for my flight to the Easter Island.

After walking around town and trying the few Spanish sentences I still know on a few shopkeepers, I still had time to visit the Pre-Columbian Museum which has exhibits from various places around central and South and Central America. Quite interesting as far as museums go with a few exhibits for every civilization that roamed the continent at one stage.
Thanks to my jetlag I was up at 7am the next morning and spend the most of the day visiting and finding (yes I got lost) Cerro San Cristobal (St. Christopher's Hill). It is I think the highest point in Santiago but the really great thing about it is that you do not have
Nice buildingNice buildingNice building

Not sure what this was but it’s a beautiful building.
to walk up! Instead you use the Funicular a kind of tram which runs up and down the hill. On top you have (in theory) a great view of Santiago but due to smog you can’t see a lot. The op of the hill is crowned with a 12m statue of Maria looking out over Santiago. Didn’t bother with the rest of the (I bet very interesting) attraction on top as I had to go back and catch my flight.
Anyhow I managed to catch my flight to the Easter Island and was quite glad to leave the place. I will have to come back again at the end of my trip to fly to Europe but at least I know now that I do not need to spend more time here.

I just wanted to take a moment to thank all my Spanish teachers. I did not learn too much (which was more my fault then theirs) but I have to say the few words and sentences I remember really help. Spanish seems to make lost more sense when you’re in a Spanish speaking country. Looking forward to my Spanish lessons in Buenos Aires.

This is where
New and oldNew and oldNew and old

The cathedral with a skyscraper in the background.
Chile is. As mentioned the Easter Island is a part of Chile but it cannot be seen on this map as it is too small. Just imagine a tiny spot somewhere close to the edge of the map to the west of Chile...



Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Looks like a DYI jobLooks like a DYI job
Looks like a DYI job

Some old church. Thought it looks kind of nice.
Funky buildingsFunky buildings
Funky buildings

Some of the local watering holes...
MacD is everywhereMacD is everywhere
MacD is everywhere

And no, I didn’t go inside
Pumuckl foreverPumuckl forever
Pumuckl forever

The Germans will get it...
The FunicularThe Funicular
The Funicular

You can reach the top of St. Christopher's Hill with the “Funicular”. On top of the hill you get great views (apart from the smog) and you can look up to Maria.
MariaMaria
Maria

15m high Statue of Maria which stands on top of Cerro San Cristobal (St. Christopher's Hill).
The AndesThe Andes
The Andes

The Andes if you can spot them behind the smog that hangs over Santiago all the time. Air pollution is quite a big problem and makes it hard to see anything that’s over 2km away


2nd February 2006

Pictures look fine (not dark as you questioned)
Hey Ralph Interesting facts about Chile!! Keep it coming - it's like taking geography classes all over again but very nice with pic and story together. Enjoy! Hasta la vista, Ulla
4th February 2006

say hi to big heads
This blog business is amazing.I admire you, have enough pasience to keep writing while travelling...Say hi to the big heads in easter island,looking 4ward to hear about that. Ciao now, Pelin
22nd February 2006

This blog millarki is kool as. Escapism when at work - luv it! Pics look fab dude! What the hell is Pumucki all about? WenStaR x
22nd March 2012
Nice building

excellent

Tot: 0.22s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 16; qc: 78; dbt: 0.079s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb