Caleta Tortel and the sun shines


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Aisén » Carretera Austral
January 6th 2010
Published: January 6th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Almost unbelievable after so much water but the morning started dry. We went for a nice walk on the hill close to the village to have a nice view of the bay and the surrounding area. When the sun really started shine you could really see how beautiful the place is. Even a large part of the walking track was constructed with wood like most of the pedestrian paths in Tortel. Inbetween a lot of water so it was a quest to keep your feet dry. We saw 7 condors making circles above our heads. Diane did not liked it before someone in the vening told us that condors do not attack living stock, so what were we ? It was amazing to see how such a big bird comes closer just to have a look. The restaurant of Mirador was a nice spot for a break though the service was a bit strange, not customer sensitive yet. Did find a place to internet in the circular library. In the evening we ate well in the Hospedaje Elstilo hoping that next days would be at least dry. So 0 km cycling.

Next direction Cochrane according to the map 125km which is a long way on these roads. On the crossing point with Puerto Yungay there is sign 95km to Cochrane which is wrong but I only understood when I arrived in the evening. I was heading for a campsite which was 10k from the Carretera which meant 20k extra. Not my favourite choices. I misread another sign for a camping and there I was climbing a hill. After some km. I understood that there would be no camping. In an optimistic mood and the wind in my back I chose to continue to go to Cochrane for the whole 116k which were in the end 127k. Halfway it got warmer bit by bit. The plants had more colours and the view over the lakes with the green of the trees and the white of the glaciers was marvelous. In the evening light it all looks warmer. I was glad to take my bike with front suspension otherwise I had never reached Cochrane in about 9 hours. The friendly lady of the Hospedaje Rubio had a place to sleep with a good matress, a nice warm shower and the restaurant was not that far.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0578s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb