Rio - we made it


Advertisement
Published: June 14th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Outside our windowOutside our windowOutside our window

If I sit in the middle of the dining room table - this is my view but... see next photo
Hi just a short entry to show you where we are staying, it has been a day of high stress and travel - Mum went back for urgent surgery - just heard she is good and sitting up in bed - so that is a big relief. It is not the easiest sitting here having fun when Mum is having a few problems, luckily Sharon is doing a stunning job and dealing with all the hard decisions, all I can do is give her my full backing and keep thinking of what is occurring while I am suffering in Rio - have a look at our view!

To those who are still working - I have kept an eye on some of the emails - when I get free wifi and it seems you are all still working hard - one day I will be back to help - just a little tanned.

A couple of points for NZ tourism - povide free wifi - dont milk the tourists. Every where here seems to provide free wifi, at airports, hotels, cafes etc. Seems everywhere we go has wifi, OK one place was a bit slow but hey we were
Turn my head to the leftTurn my head to the leftTurn my head to the left

Here is my view - yes this is Copocabana beach
an hour by 4X4 to a road as we know it. It started as a coupld but the other one has slipped my mind.

A point for Salvador tourism - put toilets at the beach! Beautiful beaches in Salvador, all seem to have walls and steps going down to the beach - but the steps stink of urine, just walking past on the foot path you can smell them, the local guide said most just pee in the water - needless to say we were reluctant to swim at the local beaches in Salvador. The Rio beaches look beautiful and clean and have toilets so I may go simming but as Kim told me she was advised to where shoes at the beach - just not sure how to swim with my jandals on, holding my head above the waves and looking out for stry wam patches in the water!

That is enough for now, will update again maybe tomorrow after our walk around the area.

Bye for now


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

And at nightAnd at night
And at night

This is also from my window - currently part of the G + 20 conference is going on here and this is a coastal fort
And if I stand by the TVAnd if I stand by the TV
And if I stand by the TV

They have a large mirror which means we see the sea even when facing away from it


Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0295s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb