New Hostel in Rio


Advertisement
Brazil's flag
South America » Brazil » Rio de Janeiro » Rio de Janeiro
October 15th 2007
Published: October 15th 2007
Edit Blog Post

En Route to Top of Sugar Loaf Mountain En Route to Top of Sugar Loaf Mountain En Route to Top of Sugar Loaf Mountain

View from cable car on way up. Sugar Loaf is one of the highest peaks in Rio with panoramic views of the city and bay.
Mon 15th Oct
Yesterday morning I went to the Hippy Market near Ipamena beach - a huge traditional Sunday market with stalls selling mainly leather, jewellry and art. Many local and national artist bring along their works for sale and it was that I was really interested in. Eventually 'bought a large oil impressionist painting of the Rio scene. Got the artist to roll it up so I could put it through the post.
Decided to change hostels to a new one beside Cococabana beach - also a safer area. I was the ninth guest they had it only opened a week ago and everything in it is new.
after I settled in I got a taxi with some of the other guests to the bottom of the Sugar Loaf Mountain and got the cable car up - fantastic views over Rio - took the cable car again right to the top and waited for sunset - heavenly..........lots of photos. With the height and the wind-chill factor it got very cold so was glad to get back down again. 'Went out for a meal in the main part of the city and had an early night.
This morning my mission was
Half way there!Half way there!Half way there!

The trip up was in two stages by different cable cars. You can see the top in the background.
to post the painting - found a paper shop and bought a tube, that was easy, but finding a post office was was not. It took me the whole morning.
I was so tired from all the walking I went back to the hostel lay in the hammock on the roof and fell asleep.
I think I'll go down to the beach later.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Sunset from the topSunset from the top
Sunset from the top

Stunning sunset views, you can just pick out the statue of Christ the King.
The New HostelThe New Hostel
The New Hostel

View from the hammock in the lounge area of the new hostel in Rio.
A new friend I met!A new friend I met!
A new friend I met!

It´s amazing who you meet just off Cococabana Beach.


Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0435s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb