Jardim Botanico--A must see!


Advertisement
Published: April 15th 2018
Edit Blog Post

This morning, we had some breakfast foods at our flat, which we had purchased at the little market downstairs. At around 10am, we got bus #511 to the Botanical Gardens. The ride was about 30-40 minutes. It is a 6 Reais entry fee. It was not crowded at all and we barely ever saw people in there until near the end. We stayed there for a few hours, but first went to eat. Food choices in there are slim, but we did find a little place, where we had some sandwiches. I had a Kuat to drink. I sure do love the guarana sodas! We really liked the gardens and I highly recommend them as a "do not miss" thing to do in Rio. The pathways are easy to stroll, and we saw a good amount of bird species in there. I really liked the waterfalls and fountains the most.

It felt late, so we headed for the exit. Once out, I saw a sun dial and it said that it was only 2:15. We went to get a bus to Ipanema Beach. Once there, we just walked down the beachfront for several blocks. We stopped at a little food stand and had some fresh coconut water. I can live on coconut, so I was happy. It was so refreshing, and was also the first of many on this trip. They chill the coconuts and then chop the top off and put a straw in and you drink up! When it started to get dark, we rode the bus back to Rio Sul mall and found a place to eat. It was called Rio Tropical, and it was ok. The girls meals looked better, so I think I just ordered the wrong thing. I had a maté to drink. After dinner, we walked around the mall for a bit and then went back to the flat to go to sleep.


Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement



Tot: 0.118s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 41; dbt: 0.0717s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb