Christmas Eve With Cristo


Advertisement
Brazil's flag
South America » Brazil » Rio de Janeiro » Rio de Janeiro » Copacabana
December 24th 2007
Published: December 24th 2007
Edit Blog Post

We just got back from visiting the Cristo Redentor statue. Now that´s the way to spend christmas eve. It was so unbelievably impressive. The views of the city are just fantastic (we even saw the worlds largest floating christmas tree!) and the statue itself is so impressive! Tomorrow we plan to go up Sugar Loaf mountain if the cable cars are still operating. I hope they are.

The two days we spent in Sao Paulo were fairy uneventful. The city isn´t all that interesting, we walked around for about 3 hours and saw al the pretty buildings. We also saw a massive nativity scene set in the amazon, so instead of cows ad sheep there were crocodiles and leopards and instead of shepards and wise men there were indians... Interesting! We aso saw a man covered in blood, that was fun. Don´t know if he got shot or what. We had the biggest cheesiest pizza one night too, it was amazing! The best bit though was the fact that it was only 18 degrees! And it got cooler at night! It was soooo amazing to actualy sleep with a duvet again, so suggly and comforting. The bus we got from there to here took 6 hours which is the same as between Concepcion and Asuncion but the quality of the bus was soooo much better! The seats were cofy there was leg room and we even got given a blanket, a pillow and a food goody bag! Awesome. SImple things eh?

I kind of miss Paraguay... That one totally snuck up on me! I neer felt at home there because I was always comparing it to England, but coming here where I don´t speak the language and don´t know how stuff works made me realise just how at home I actually feel over there! And I´m more used to the heat as Holli feels hotter here than I do (it´s lovely like 25-30 and with a breeze too). For the first time in my life iI´m more tanned than Holli, it´s amazing! Won´t last ong though I bet.

Well I best go as there is someone waiting to use the computer. So Merry Christmas everyone, love you and miss you loads. Hope you have a nice time in the cold tomorrow! xxxx

Advertisement



25th December 2007

Merry Christmas!
Merry Christmas, lot's of love from Hamish
2nd January 2008

Hoe you had a good one Sophie
I'm now back at work...arghh!

Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0666s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb