Crocs, crocs, and more crocs!


Advertisement
Brazil's flag
South America » Brazil » Pantanal
July 22nd 2007
Published: July 22nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Up close and personalUp close and personalUp close and personal

Jess, this one's for you!
The Pantanal covers approximately 89,000 sq miles (230,000 sq km) and reaches through Paraguay and Bolivia, but most of it lies in Brazil. It supports 650 species of birds and 80 mammals including jaguars, pumas, anteaters, capybaras, armadillos, howler monkeys, tapirs, deer, and ocelots.

I saw more animals in the first 5 hours in The Pantanal than in 5 days in the Amazon: egrets, hawks, owls, kingfishers, storks, foxes, vultures, and dozens of caimans (and no mosquitos!!). Caimans are the passive cousins of the crocodile and alligator. They are everywhere - even outside my hotel room. The caimans climb up from the river to soak up the sun during the day. Statistics say there are between 10 and 35 million caimans in The Pantanal. The guides insist that they don’t attack unless provoked and that they are docile, but from the way one of them was snapping at me, I’m not so sure. Anyhow, for all of you who wanted close-up shots - here they are. Over the next 4 days, I also saw anteaters, monkeys, otters, capybaras (the biggest rodent known to man), apes, storks, and a tapir. Days were spent hiking in the forest, piranha fishing, horseback riding, and taking canoe trips down the river.

I was originally planning to stay for 3 days but extended my trip because I felt so peaceful and relaxed. The people were all incredibly warm and generous. On my second night in The Pantanal, some of the locals were playing guitars and singing Brazilian country songs about love and heartbreak. It was wonderful! I left The Pantanal with a heavy heart for many reasons. Hopefully I will return to this paradise soon.




Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

The circle of lifeThe circle of life
The circle of life

This calf was bitten by a snake. The vultures won't go near it because it was poisoned so its carcass is left to weather the wind and sun.


22nd July 2007

Savor the moments
Hey Jen, This seems like a little slice of heaven. I would love to be out there amidst all the nature right now. Enjoy it while you can...sooner or later you'll have to return to the 10x10 cubicle (or maybe not). ;-) For the time being, savor the moments. And here's a quote about nature that you might enjoy: "The deeper we look into nature, the more we recognize that it is full of life, and the more profoundly we know that all life is a secret and that we are united with all life that is in nature. " --Albert Schweitzer Hugs, g-)
22nd July 2007

Pantanal
Hi Jen, everything looks so peaceful and beautiful. You touching one of those Caiman is something I would not do. Good to see you so relaxed and happy. Beautiful pictures keep them coming. ILU:)
22nd July 2007

well we all know those pictures are at sunset, because you are never awake for a sunrise :-)
22nd July 2007

Three sunrises
I wish I could sleep in. These days I'm usually up by 7 or 8. But I've seen 3 sunrises - the Amazon, Machu Picchu, and The Pantanal. :)
22nd July 2007

=)
OMG so its like 8 in the morning here on sunday and of course i wake up at the butt crack of dawn to check my email to see your updates...and i must say i am everso thrilled to see your new blogs but mostly to know that youve gotten up close and personal with the crocs just for me!! lol...btw i love that picture...k time to go back to sleep tooodles
22nd July 2007

I knew you'd love it :)
When I was taking that picture I thought, Jessica is going to love this! Glad you like it :) I think that is the end of the wild animals for a while until I get to Australia. Besitos, J

Tot: 0.042s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0219s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb