Movin to the country...


Advertisement
Brazil's flag
South America » Brazil » Maranhão » São Luis
June 27th 2009
Published: June 27th 2009
Edit Blog Post

brazil photos kates camera 223brazil photos kates camera 223brazil photos kates camera 223

the construction we helped a little bit with. (just putting the mud on, the rest was done before we arrived.)
... gonna eat me alot of passion fruit.

Study abroad is finished! I still have a paper to turn in by July 12th but the classes are done and we are out of that noisy ass hotel! We are going to be staying with a friend for about a week in his orchard. It is soooo much nicer than the hotel AND I dont have classes 8 hours a day! AND I am not sick anymore! We are recovering and chillin with our friend josh.

Yesterday I got my hair cut by an old man with shaky hands who has been cutting hair for 40 years in a rickety old shop with old school barber shop chairs. It was fuckin awesome! Best hair cut I have ever recieved. He shaved my face with a straight razor and everything! I just sat down and in very poor portuguese asked him to surprise me. I will try to go back and get pictures of him and his shop, I am in love. I never want to have my face shaved any other way again.

Today we mailed a bunch of stuff to my mom's house so we wouldn't have to carry unecessary things through the amazon. It is so much cheaper to send things from here than to here. it was only like $US 70-80 to send a package that was pretty big and full of books out of here and $60 to mail a credit card to here.

Then we checked out of that god forsaken beautiful beautiful hotel. We have moved everything to Joshes house as mentioned before. We met his father today and helped him with building his future house on the premises. It is a mud wall house with a wood thatch frame. It has rocks in the base with the mud for stability. It is quite an interesting way to construct a building. I took photos for Dad to see.

Joshes dad works at a slaughter house nearby and tomorrow morning we are going to go to work with him to see what he does and how the slaughter house operates. Then some of Joshes family is going to come over for the day. And finally we are going to town to watch the USA vs. Brasil soccer match with some friends. Monday we are going to the Beach and that is about as far as we have planned this week. It is going to be so nice to see the everyday life of Brasil rather than all of the touristy and University related things we have been doing.


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

brazil photos kates camera 228brazil photos kates camera 228
brazil photos kates camera 228

left to right: me, kate, Josh's Dad
brazil photos kates camera 236brazil photos kates camera 236
brazil photos kates camera 236

preparing the tericotta mud at least thats what we think it is
brazil photos kates camera 240brazil photos kates camera 240
brazil photos kates camera 240

new haircut compliments of awesome old man


Tot: 0.117s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0675s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb