Mothers day


Advertisement
Published: May 27th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I'm down to my last few days here. Time sure has gone by fast!

Yesterday we did some shopping downtown. I picked up a few touristy items. I can't take too much back cause my suitcases are borderline too heavy as it is. It doesn't really matter cause i don't like shopping here. They follow you around the store and it's really uncomfortable. We had a few VERY close calls in the taxi home. It's amazing there aren't accidents everywhere. I think that there are more pedestrians hit than car accidents. There are only a few crosswalks here and no one obeys them. There also aren't many traffic lights which is crazy when you think that the population here is 1.2 million.

It's cooled down a few degrees so i've slept a bit better the past few nights. I've even managed to sleep without the mosquito net without getting totally eaten alive. Today was so windy you could hardly go outside because of the dust blowing everywhere.

It is mothers day here today. I have found that Bolivians celebrate everything in a big way. There was no school today for the kids and yesteryday was a huge party for all the moms. Today some of the moms came to the daycare to watch the kids sing and they had made crafts for them. Also cake..they have cake alot here!

Well..not much else to report. It seems the longer you stay somewhere..the less you start to notice. Most things have become normal to me now.



Advertisement



28th May 2008

Everyone misses you at work. I cannot wait to see you! I can understand how more and more normal things there would become. I still have a hard time believing you are there!! I am so proud of ya!

Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0258s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb