Samaipata


Advertisement
Published: May 26th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I'm back!! The trip was nice. A very beautiful drive. You have to drive through a few very small villages to get there, so that is always interesting. Samaipata is in the mountains, so it was much cooler there which was great.
The very start of the trip i got bit by a marigui which is a fly that bites and creates a blood blister. Of course i had a reaction to it and the bite is right on my elbow, so it still hurts to bend my arm. It itches like crazy!
We stayed at a place called "Finca La Vispera" It's a small place with a few cabins, a place to camp and an organic farm. It was really pretty and smelled great from all the flowers and herbs.There were some awesome hummingbirds..not like the ones at home..they were bright blue and green.
Samaipata is a very small village, but attracts lots of tourists. There is also quite a few hippies there. I think in most of the towns they hang out in the "plaza" which is a pretty park in the center of town. They sell jewellery for a living. I actually bought some even though i am not a fan of hippies. They stink too much for my sensitive nose!!

We had dinner at a German restaurant which was not so great. Went back to the cabin and played scrabble. I went to get into bed and pulled back the curtains and a HUGE dead spider fell out and there was also a huge living one too. I'm glad there was an extra bed i could move to. Still, i was paranoid and totally wrapped myself in a mosquito net for the night.

In the morning we had a nice breakfast and headed off to "El Fuerte" which is the remains of a pre Inca ceremonial site. You have to drive about 10k from the village and i swear it's straight up. A very bumpy scary drive. No one told me it was going to be about a 2 hour hike when we got there..ugh! I'm so glad it wasn't too hot or i wouldn't have made it. It was pretty interesting and a great view from the top. I even got to see some vultures.

We were going to stop at some waterfalls after that, but once i heard there were lots of marigui..i said forget it.

The drive home i was tired, but there is just too much to see instead of sleeping. There are SO many citrus stands along the way. I have never seen so many oranges in my life. Cows, donkeys, chickens, dogs and kids are always on the side of the road. I can't believe some of the little kids that just sit and play on the side of a busy road. I saw taxi's and trucks filled with people and i mean filled...like 10 people in a taxi..it's crazy.

We stopped for lunch on the way home at a chicken restaurant. Now imagine what your idea of the worst bathroom in the world would be like....oh yes...there it was. In the back of the restaurant was acutally someones house and the bathroom was SO gross. When i first went to open the door someone was having shower. When i went back..OMG. The stench was so strong it burnt my throat. NO light, no toilet paper, so soap..oh the memories. Yes, we did eat lunch there. Crazy times.

Last night we went to the Santa Cruz plaza. It's so busy on a sunday night. There are tons of stands set up selling touristy stuff and even bands playing. We had ice cream, came home and watched a movie. I still haven't gotten much stuff to take home, so i'm hoping to get some shopping done today. I only have a few more days left!

Well..i tried to get a few pics on here, but it's still not working. Looks like you'll have to wait till i get home.

Advertisement



26th May 2008

YAY! ur coming home soon! Can't wait! I'll bet ur boys miss u like crazy! Those bugs would be 2 much 4 me 2 handle, augh! And so would the bathrooms. Our powerful noses are 2 sensitive! hahaha, anyway, miss u! Have a great rest of ur trip. Love u!

Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0442s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb