Tupiza: The wild west!


Advertisement
Bolivia's flag
South America » Bolivia » Potosí Department » Tupiza
July 27th 2011
Published: August 1st 2011
Edit Blog Post

Red dust, rainbow coloured rocks, sunshine and a little bit of wind....made me feel though I had arrived in the wild west when I set foot in Tupiza. The journey from Uyuni to Tupiza was bumpy, and I might never quite understand how so much dust can enter into a bus when the windows are closed.....but I really enjoyed my time in this city.

It is quaint and easy to maneuver though the small dusty street, and apart from the stray dogs that randomely bark (and find a way of scaring me...), it is a great city to relax in and get some peace and quiet. I got my own room for the first time in a long while, which meant no roommates waking me up in the middle of the night....which was amazing!

They say that you can´t come all the way to Tupiza without riding a horse, so being the good tourist I am... I signed up for a 5 hour horse ride, and was rewarded with some great views of canyons and mountain ranges. However, I had not ridden a horse in around 15 years, and me and my horse had some communication issues. He loved to go fast and gallop, and I was definitely more into a nice canter....but we somehow managed to finish the course. However, I had a hard time sitting down after that.....it is definitely a sport that is hard on the behind!

Anyway, I am off to Salta tomorrow to see my so I am pretty excited!

Hasta pronto,
Caitlin


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement



Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 12; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0406s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb