The Journey to Salta


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Salta » Salta
August 1st 2011
Published: August 1st 2011
Edit Blog Post

I had been pleasantly surprised at the smoothness of my travels up until this trip....as everything seemed to be going according to plan, and I even tended to arrive earlier to places than expected. Therefore when I left for Salta from Tupiza at 8 in the morning, I was relatively sure that the estimated 8 hour journey would have me arriving in Salta before sundown.....little did I know that the Quiaca/Villazon would prove to be a 4 hour wait. Now I´m all for national sovereignty....and countries having their own border....but I think it is really archaic that I had to wait 2 hours at the Villazon border to leave Bolivia and 2 hours at the Quiaca border to enter Argentina. I think it is quite logical that someone leaves a country has to enter another country.....so why not just line up once! As you can see I was not too pleased at the 4 hour delay, and I also had not realized that there was a 1 hour time difference between the countries....all this meant that instead of arriving before sundown I arrived at 11:30 at night. I had also not thought to make a reservation, so I ended up having to go from hostel to hostel searching for a room😞 It also turned out to be winter holidays in Argentina, so I was rejected from 5 places before finding the last room in a hostel...

As you can imagine it was not my favourite travelling experience...but that´s life. I did get to explore Salta a little the next day and it had a beautiful plaza and some great coffee shops....so I just relaxed a little😊 I was really happy to arrive in Salta...because I was taking a flight on Friday to Iguazu Falls....to meet my sister. Although I love meeting new people, sometimes the novelty of being a foreigner wears out a little....so was really excited to see my sister!

Hasta pronto,
Caitlin

Advertisement



Tot: 0.11s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0795s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb