Working with the Animals


Advertisement
Published: November 28th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Sorry I haven´t written in a while, I´ve been quite busy working with the animals, and having a good time in general. Today we finally had a sunny day, after 3-4 days of rain. The first night of rain, we had a really big thunderstorm, and the next day, we discovered that one of that cages for the cats (an oscillot actually) was flattened by a landslide, so I went up there to help clear the ruins. No worries though, the cat was found 2 days later, and is now in one of the rooms in one of the hostels here.
Other than that, I´m getting to know my job, the park and the people, and I´ll finally be allowed to take photos tomorrow, so you can expect some soon. Also, I am probably getting a baby tayra (it´s a weasel-like animal, 5 of them can supposedly kill a puma). It was brought to the shelter yesterday, and I´ll probably get it in a few more days. By the way, cuchicuchi is what we call a kinkajou (a.k.a honey-bear/cat-monkey or whatever, look it up in wikipedia). I saw them at night, we have 5, and they are scary. When I was cleaning their cage today, one got out of the boxes where they sleep, so I ran real fast out of the cage. All my other animals are cute, these are just mean.
I also saw one of the pumas, which was scary at first, because it was just lying down inside a room with the door open. But it´s old, has arthritis, and can´t move, which I know now, so it´s fine.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.274s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 66; dbt: 0.083s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb