The Animal Refuge


Advertisement
Published: November 21st 2007
Edit Blog Post

I got to Villa Tunari, a small town where the Parque Machia animal shelter is, this morning. I had to wait until 17:00 for the guy who gives new volunteers assignments, so I spent the day in the cafe at the park, meeting the other volunteers. They are all nice people, and I was surprised to find that there are quite a few Israelis here (about 7 or 8 including me), two of them I´ve even met before.
I was assigned to the small animals section, which has some animals I haven´t even heard of before. I didn´t work with the animals yet, that´s going to be tomorrow, but so far I am quite happy with the assignment. I wanted to work with the bear, but that requires a one months commitment, which I can´t make just yet, however I will be staying here at least two weeks (the minimum commitment), and possibly more if I like it here.
Don´t expect any pictures of the animals for at least a week, as we´re not allowed to bring a camera to the park for the first week.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.297s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 8; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0877s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb