Biking Down the World´s Most Dangerous Road


Advertisement
Bolivia's flag
South America » Bolivia » La Paz Department » Yungas Road
November 19th 2007
Published: November 19th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Yesterday I went mountain biking down the world´s most dangerous road, a.k.a death road, and survived. I didn´t want to let anyone know in advance, because there´s no need to worry for nothing. Anyway, I had a great time, and I got a nice t-shirt at the end.
The road is 67 km long, 60 of which are downhill. The first 22 km are paved, and it becomes a dirt road after that. To be honest, since a new road opened about a year ago, there´s almost no traffic anymore on the unpaved part of the road, so it´s much safer now, although we did pass lots of crosses and other markers that indicate where people have died.
I went with the best company here, Gravity Assisted Mountain Biking, and because it´s more expensive, there were no other Israelis. Our guide told me that in 3 months she´s been working here, I was the second Israeli she had. It´s also the reason why the only two markers for people who died in cycling accidents we passed were for two Israelis.
Our guide had herself a little accident almost at the end (she collided with another guide who had a puncture), so she didn´t finish the ride with us, but other than that, no one was injured. We finished at an animal shelter, where we had a nice lunch, and saw some nice animals (monkeys, tucans, a boa constrictor), but the shelter I´m going to volunteer in is much bigger.
I didn´t take any photos, but the guides did, and they should be online in a few days, so you can see them all. I am leaving for Cochabamba, and then to Villa Tunari for the animal shelter (you can check out the place at the website ).

Photos from my ride The password is ¨photos¨


Advertisement



Tot: 0.362s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 12; qc: 60; dbt: 0.1644s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb